We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sit on the patio”
Review of Novo

Novo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Broad st.
Description: Set against a rich eclectic backdrop, Novo's international flavors are the leading ingredients in an exotic dining experience. Located downtown San Luis Obispo in a historic turn of the century building with spectacular creekside dining. Multi award winning restaurant for food, service and ambiance. Extensive global and local wine and beer selection. Novo easily accommodates large parties either on one of the patios in in their lower level "cellar room". A favorite with both locals and tourists, Novo is a truly a San Luis Obispo experience.
Carmichael
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sit on the patio”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

A relaxing spot to sit on the patio and enjoy drinks and conversation. The food was tasty and the service was fast and friendly. Don't get too dressed up, it's casual all the way. There are heat lamps, so you won't get cold when you're chillin'

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisascircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    290
    71
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suisse
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“French / Californian Cuisine”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This restaurant allows to sit inside towards the street entrance and outside towards the creek. Atmosphere was nice sitting outside. The food has quality ingredients, prices are a bit higher than in other place, but still reasonable and justified for what you get.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarkEtKatharina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesa, az
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Four of us went for a birthday celebration and we each ordered a different entree and each of us were extremely pleased. We had scallops, lamb, duck and the special of the night, mahi mahi. Everything was absolutely superb as was the service and the atmosphere. Only drawback was a $12 corkage fee which seems a bit excessive. Will definately return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harrypotter60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Number 1”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend ate here and instantly knew it was amazing.
Great simply laid out menu, huge wine and drinks list feat an array of everything, fantastic. The meals we had were amongst the best in California, the setting is beautiful, the waiter was professional but friendly and relaxed at the same time.
A definite 10 out of 10 restaurant.
I'm sorry, but I just don't believe for a second that the terrible reviews on here reflect what I experienced tonight, either they are not telling the truth, they have mistaken for another restaurant, are far too fussy about nothing, or were too intoxicated.

All in all, fantastic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dpowers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We took a trip back to San Luis Obispo recently and wanted to try a new spot for dinner. We found this restaurant highly rated on Tripadvisor. We truly enjoyed our meal. Our table was outside above a small river. The food was excellent. Try the scallops or the or the filet.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Novo also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Novo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing