We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lunch”
Review of Novo

Novo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Broad st.
Description: Set against a rich eclectic backdrop, Novo's international flavors are the leading ingredients in an exotic dining experience. Located downtown San Luis Obispo in a historic turn of the century building with spectacular creekside dining. Multi award winning restaurant for food, service and ambiance. Extensive global and local wine and beer selection. Novo easily accommodates large parties either on one of the patios in in their lower level "cellar room". A favorite with both locals and tourists, Novo is a truly a San Luis Obispo experience.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I had a light lunch here on St. Patrick's Day, and despite the drunken din coming from the Irish pub next door, we enjoyed the food and the creek-side dining area. We had the salmon bisque, paseo chili empenadas and the crabcakes. All were very good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    288
    71
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Novo is amazing. The service and food was awesome. The setting by the creek is romantic. Great selection of vegetarian food. The chow nova with tofu was delicious. Wine list is great too. Would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAXbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Novo - Amazing!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were visiting San Luis Obispo where my husband went to school where we fell upon the Novo restaurant while browsing TripAdvisor. We made reservations for that night through Open Table - everything went amazingly well from check in for dinner to leaving. Food arrived hot, flavorful and on time - the service was excellent. The prawns were wonderful as was the stuffed quail - we would eat here again and will recommend this restaurant to others - keep up the wonderful work Novo!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flowerbloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila Beach, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great lunch on the patio”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I shared an excellent lunch on the patio. We giggled at the heat lamps - being from Chicago, high 50's in March is bikini weather! :P But the patio is what makes this place. It's really cute to sit out by the creek.

We each had a sandwich. I had the portobello mushroom burger and he had the salmon sandwich. Both were tasty but I thought mine was better. I also paid an extra $2 for the Salmon Bisque, which was delicious but I'm not sure it was worth the extra money. He had he mixed greens salad and the dressing that come on it was delicious. Our lunch came with little bread bites with oil and vinegar.

Service was friendly and great!

I'd love to come back for dinner and sit on the patio. I can see how the lights, delicious food and beautiful SLO breeze would make for a magical meal!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Local Favorite”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I'm a SLO local and ant to encourage visitors to include Novo in their itinerary. First, you'll find some of the best servers in the area. Where most local restaurants fall back on the student population, Novo is mostly all professional wait staff.

Their menu is a wonderful fusion of Asian, Indian, Southeast Asian and California cuisine. The produce is so fresh, on Thursday nights you can literally see them walking it in off the street from farmer's market.

You can't judge the restaurant from the street...walk through the restaurant to their back patio to enjoy fine dining on the creek. I have to say though that I prefer a spot in the window so I can people watch.

Their specials are usually amazing...if they have a fish special jump on it. On the main menu I strongly recommend the lavender lamb chops!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan-from-SLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Novo also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Novo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing