We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not missing a thing! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Luis Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Hanford, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not missing a thing! ”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé & I stayed Windsor Suite which was very spacious! Everything was great starting with the check in. We arrived before check in time but the lovely front desk girl Alexis informed us that our room was ready and that we could check in early. We are local and wanted to get out of town but still stay close to home so this was perfect. My fiancé and I we're celebrating our 3rd anniversary together and we asked Alexis for dinner recommendations and she recommended Novo which was excellent! We can't thank you enough! After we came back from dinner we enjoyed the amenities in the room: fireplace, jet tub and curled up and watched tv on the flat screen which was quite big. The details in the room were spot on, it felt like we were in another country. We will definitely be back because of the great hospitality and accommodations!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Maacah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It means so much when guests appreciate the service we offer. I am so happy you chose to spend a special celebration here with us and look forward to seeing you both again in the future.

Thank you again and have a great Summer!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    163
    38
    15
    5
See reviews for
94
328
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I'm not big on writing reviews online, but I believe on giving credit when credit is due. I stayed in the Plantation room of this little b&b. The room was spacious and very cleanly. Also the staff was very helpful and attentive as she was serving us breakfast and helping guests in the front. The breakfast lady was very nice and definitely helped us feel at home! I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 171Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your comments here on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so much! I love to hear such great comments about our staff. We try very hard to provide an excellent service and thank you for recognizing that.

We hope to see you again in the future and wish you a wonderful summer.

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Antigua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Room key did not work. Should I have called the fire dept. No employee on site. New foreign ownership. What would happen if this issue occurred at 1:00 am? Apparently the place was taken over by Pacific rimmers, YONG OH,. The previous couple that built and owned the place for the previous 10 years were excellent and professional. Someone is apparently pinching pennies, at the safety and expense of repeat guest. How can you operate an establishment w/o any staff on property. Beware, not safe- thankfully this situation could have been dangerous for tourist with limited communication abilities. Completely inappropriate to not have some type of security/employee on property. Inn is now run by students. good luck!

Room Tip: If you can find a vacancy at Madonna Inn, Garden St, or Granada Hotel bistro, much safer for couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ned b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for expressing your feelings on Tripadvisor. I would hate to think that you were so upset and I was unaware of it. As you know I did call the guest and discuss this whole situation with her and assure her that we will do everything possible to avoid a situation like this happening again, including a lock service. To answer a few of these points I would like to mention that I have been working at San Luis Creek Lodge over the last eight years. I worked for the previous owner and for the last three years I have worked for the new owner. All efforts have been made to keep our guest services the same as they were over the last ten years. We have never had staff on site 24 hours a day. We have always had someone available and ready to answer the emergency phone and come to the property if necessary. I am by no means a student, I am a mature person in my fifties. We do employ some students and feel we are fortunate to have a plentiful student workforce in San Luis Obispo. We take advantage of that and employ intelligent, energetic young people to work here. Sometimes things do go wrong no matter how cautious one is and how hard you work to prevent it. We will take steps to try to stop a repeat of the situation experienced and can only again apologize for the inconvenience and stress caused. I absolutely appreciate your choice to stay with us. Please feel free to reach out to me if you would like to discuss this any further. Thank you again for your feedback.

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I'm a critical person; just ask my wife. I'm also a bit demanding and thrifty. My wife and I were completely pleased with the accommodations. We stayed in the Craftsman Style building. The rooms were tastefully appointed and clean. They had all the amenities - microwave, small fridge, flat screen TV, plus a whirlpool tub, which was welcome after a day of exploring. The staff was polite and attentive, and the breakfast was first rate. You special order the eggs so they arrive fresh and hot when served. All this for a very reasonable room rate. Great value. We'll return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nweindav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We really appreciate it! I am very happy you had a good time with us and look forward to hosting you in the future if you return to our area. Always feel free to call to discuss the rooms we have available.

Have a wonderful summer!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

San Luis Creek Lodge is a nice place to stay when in SLO. Nice amenities like a microwave and small frig in the room. Pleasant decor and the overall feel of an upscale B&B as opposed to a hotel. Enjoyed the breakfast as there was a good amount of variety. We are repeat visitors who will be back.

Room Tip: The Plantation building in the back of the property is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to host you again and appreciate your kind comments. The microwave can be a nice addition as we have movies and popcorn available in our lobby.

Please come and visit us again. The town has lots to offer, especially in the summer season!

Thanks again,

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Hubby and I stayed here for two nights of our California road trip. Easy to find, great location. Reception was very welcoming, staff extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was very very good. I am a bit of a perfectionist and work in construction, and I have never stayed in a hotel with such attention to detail and beautifully furnished room. (Even a chandelier in the stairwell outside the building!) Very high standard room at a reasonable price. Breakfast was hot and plentiful, only downside was there didn't seem to be enough seats for the number of guests, but we managed to get a table, others had to wait. Good parking and overall a really great stay. SLO is a lovely town too-apparently the happiest place to be in the USA.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikk-n-Ally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you so much for writing your comments here. It is great for us to know that our guests appreciate the attention to detail here. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Have a wonderful summer, and thanks again!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night to see some friends in SLO, will return next time I'm in town! The staff was courteous and helpful, the room was very clean and the breakfast in the morning was much more than I expected. Special thanks to the manager, June, for answering some questions about the town and for scrambling up some eggs for me for breakfast!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. It was our pleasure to have you and we are happy you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again in the future. Have a wonderful summer!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,368 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
381 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
829 reviews
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Creek Lodge

Property: San Luis Creek Lodge
Address: 1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — San Luis Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of San Luis Obispo's newest hotels, ideally located close to charming downtown San Luis Obispo, 5 minutes from Cal Poly, and just 1 hour to Hearst Castle. Luxury spacious rooms feature premium furnishings, luxury upholstery, top-of-the-line bedding and dual pedestal sink bathrooms with imported tile. Extended Continental breakfast with delicious pastries, different breads, bagels and English muffins to toast, hot fresh oatmeal, scrambled eggs upon request and more, large flat-screen Sony televisions and DVD players. There are complimentary DVD rentals located in the Front Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your San Luis Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Creek Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Creek Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing