We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Luis Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

The room is big and the bed is comfortable. Breakfast was good. Free DVD rentals were available but with limited titles. Starbucks coffee and cookies were served at the recep. The cookies were yummy. About 20min walk to downtown.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We have around 140 DVDs available for our guests to borrow free of charge. We usually display around 12 of our latest additions on the front desk...I do hope you saw the whole collection and not just the new titles.

Have a wonderful summer and we hope we have an opportunity to see you again in the future.

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    159
    37
    15
    5
See reviews for
90
322
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the SLCL while visiting the college with our daughter. The room was very nice. The beds were not super comfortable, but were decent. Overall the place was clean and with nice amenities (microwave, coffee maker, Philosophy shampoos). We enjoyed the breakfast as well. We were in a three story unit so if you have trouble with stairs be sure to ask for a lower floor.

A couple complaints would be that we could not get WiFi in our room and my husband could not do any work from the hotel. And to be nit-picky the faucets in the bathroom where installed backwards (not hot vs. cold) but the way you turned them on and off and the shower head was installed for a person about 5 feet in height. If they were to get a new plumber, fix the WiFi and upgrade the beds, it would be an A+.

Room Tip: No elevators so be aware of that if you don't like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gradeschoolmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your review here. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We are in a good location for Cal Poly visitors.

Sorry about the WiFi glitch. We know how important that is to our visitors. We have recently had all the equipment replaced and upgraded. Thank you for bringing the issue to our attention.

We hope to see you again in the future!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We picked San Luis Creek Lodge based on other Trip Advisor reviews. Great place. Convenient to the highway and to town. King bed was very comfortable, the room was quiet(all we heard was the frogs outside), and breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Room 206 toward the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffAlpharetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment about your stay on Tripadvisor and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! It is good to know that the frogs are still charming our visitors.

Have a great summer and come back and see us again!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This property is squeezed in between a motel 8 and some other hotel and yet once you're in the room, it seems as if you are not in such close proximity to other properties. Small operation with only one staff member on duty in the office who is only there until 9 p.m. We met three different clerks during our stay and they were all pleasant and helpful.

The rooms are boldly decorated with themes (we were in Londonberry and my son said it was like a room you'd expect in a castle). Could be kitchy, but managed to be nice. Our room was very large, clean (smelled good) and had more than you would expect (microwave in the closet you could plug in; coffee maker with Starbucks and a tea selection; electric fireplace/heater; convenient plugs everywhere; small fridge and a selection of coffee table books about the area). Beds were comfortable.

One issue we had was that our room was handicapped accessible and had a walk in shower. It was a bit of a design flaw for if you did not block off the corner of the shower floor with towels, all the water would run out the edge of the shower floor straight to the carpeted room. I caught it in time, but it could have been quite a swamp.

The breakfast was fresh and had a good assortment. The desk clerk doubles as the chef and will make scrambled eggs and.or waffles on request. She offered to do so, quite pleasantly, to all the guests as we arrived. The breakfast room is cute but incredibly small, so we took our plates back to the room. Oatmeal, assorted breads, fruit, sausage, potatoes, juice and coffee. Nicely arranged.

We had no issue with the parking, but I can see how it might be an issue if the place was full. My recommendation would be to back in when you arrive, so it's easy to pull out.

My biggest issue, and the only reason this review did not give 5 stars was the noise from our upstairs occupant. Either he was a Sasquatch in tap shoes or the floors are hardwood and thin. It sounded like being under the stage at a Lord of the Dance review. It was quite awful until Sasquatch finally got tired and went to bed.

Good location for CalPoly visit and for access to the 101 or downtown eateries and shopping. I would stay here again, just maybe upstairs next time so that we don't have to put up with the Sasquatch. ;)

Room Tip: Upper floors are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLC&N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Many thanks for writing such a detailed review here on Tripadvisor, we appreciate it and I am sure our potential guests do too. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the tapdancing above you. Occasionally these things happen, we do try to help if possible if guests bring these things to our attention. I am very happy that this did not spoil your visit and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Thanks again, and have a wonderful summer!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We spent one night at the Lodge. The room was superb - very well equipped, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good and everyone was helpful. Access from the Coastal Highway was straightforward. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It is very gratifying to know that our work is so appreciated.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you some time in the future.

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here twice now over the course of the last 12 months. Both experiences were good; no complaints. First time we stayed in the Craftsman building and Plantation building the second time. Found both rooms to be charming and unique. Visits have been in conjunction with meetings so have not had the experience of breakfast. Great location for access to Cal Poly SLO campus and downtown. We usually just stroll downtown to take in local restaurants or infamous farmer's market. We had no problem parking in a full size pick-up truck. While parking flow might be limited, in my opinion other reviews make too much of this. Look forward to next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G0ldenState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
We will look forward to your return. Perhaps you could try our third building, The Londonderry, when you return. Please call if you would like information on what rooms are available and we will be happy to discuss that with you.

Thank you for your comments, I am delighted you had an enjoyable visit.

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
1,055 reviews
317 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,543 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

On our 3-day drive from LA to SFO we stayed the first night at 'San Luis Creek Lodge'.

And I have to say it was a very positive surprise! The location is ideal, the staff super-friendly and helpful, the room extremely clean and well appointed. Inside the room I didn't see one scratch of a suitcase. The bed was very comfortable, the TV HUGE, such as the bathroom. Internet is free and fast, even the breakfast included in the room rate.

At the reception there's all-day free coffee and cookies.

What else do you need? This hotel is just perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you so much for writing this review. It is always really wonderful to have good comments about our staff and service. San Luis Obispo has a lot to offer so we hope to welcome you back some time in the future.

Thanks again,

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Creek Lodge

Property: San Luis Creek Lodge
Address: 1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — San Luis Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of San Luis Obispo's newest hotels, ideally located close to charming downtown San Luis Obispo, 5 minutes from Cal Poly, and just 1 hour to Hearst Castle. Luxury spacious rooms feature premium furnishings, luxury upholstery, top-of-the-line bedding and dual pedestal sink bathrooms with imported tile. Extended Continental breakfast with delicious pastries, different breads, bagels and English muffins to toast, hot fresh oatmeal, scrambled eggs upon request and more, large flat-screen Sony televisions and DVD players. There are complimentary DVD rentals located in the Front Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Luis Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Creek Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Creek Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing