We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky and Great Find in SLO”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Luis Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lucky and Great Find in SLO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last week (July 10-12) for two nights. The exterior looks very German or Swiss in design, and parking was easy, with no additional charge. The great surprise was the room. We stayed in Room 226 at the top of the stairs of one of buildings. The room was very large, had a separate sitting area and a fireplace, and several windows that opened to let in fresh air. The room had AC, which we really didn't need, and one of the prettiest bathrooms I have had in any hotel room (and I travel a lot). Beds were fine, the place had free wireless internet, and a fridge to keep are wine country and farmer's market food cold. The room was also very quiet. The people working there with whom we interacted, two different desk clerks and a waitress in the breakfast room, were all very courteous an helpful.

Location wise, it is on Monterey Street, which is very quick access to the 101, and the location is walkable to lots of restaurants, wine bars, bakeries and so forth.

The breakfast is more than enough. In addition to oatmeal, fruit, cereal and other carbs, there are hot potatoes and really tasty sausages. You can also have eggs cooked to order. It is not the best breakfast I've ever had--that would be in Ireland, hands down--but this was hot plentiful and more than sufficient to start the day.

SLO is a great little city to visit, and you go, you will not be disappointed with this hotel. Very nice place at a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Room 226 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deserttravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I have to agree with you about the bathroom. I feel all the bathrooms are particularly well done, something that is important to me when I am traveling. I am glad you got to enjoy some local wine and produce. I have been to Ireland and know that I would not try to compete with a full Irish breakfast! but I am happy that you enjoyed ours and hope that we see you again if you are in our lovely area.

Have a great summer,

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    159
    37
    15
    5
See reviews for
89
322
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel this past week and all I can say is WOW!!! The rooms were soo clean and absolutely adorable the decor was fantastic. Not to mention this place it totally affordable!!! Whoever owns this place should feel sooo proud to have the staff that they do! I was immediately greeted with a smile and a fresh baked cookie! They have a large selection of DVDs that are free to take back to your room, they even have complimentary microwave popcorn at the front desk. The manager was a total doll, with just the greatest personality! Oh, I forgot about the breakfast! Freshly made scrambled eggs and waffles....YUM!!! Thank you to the staff at San Luis Creek Lodge for making my stay wonderful! I'll definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RyanACO8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you very much for this review. We are very flattered. The rooms and breakfast are very important but nothing is more important than the staff, and the way that they treat our guests. It is always wonderful and inspiring to know how much our visitors appreciate them.

Thank you again!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Although we are very happy that our son has graduated from Cal Poly, we are sorry to say goodbye to our "home away from home" at San Luis Creek Lodge. We have stayed here numerous times over the past five years and have come to feel quite comfortable. We have stayed at the lodge through two different owners. I have to say, the transition between the two was not a smooth one, but things are back on track now...in fact it is better than ever. It is so nice to see some of the familiar staff back running the place as it should be. The rooms are thoughtfully furnished, tastefully decorated, and spotless. The included breakfast is delicious. We loved the freshly scrambled eggs and the new addition of rosemary potatoes. Ours days always ended with a free DVD and popcorn.

Although there is no happy hour at this hotel we found that the quiet, peaceful environment was well worth giving up a free glass of wine. Instead, we enjoyed walking to the wine bar right down the street or to the livelier area downtown, less than a mile away. Hopefully we will have a chance to return here on vacation. Advice to incoming Cal Poly parents - get to know this place, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annewilcoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
As one of the familiar faces, I would like to thank you very much for your comments. I appreciate your sensitivity to our changes over the last two years and I am happy that you can see that we are in a very good place now. We love our Cal Poly connection and enjoy seeing the families go from initial college visits right through to Graduation ( sometimes more than once). We hope to see you again in the future, as a family or as a couple. San Luis Obispo always has something to offer to visitors no matter how many times you have been here.

Thanks again,

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Found this little gem on trip advisor and it lived up to its press. Great, friendly people at the front desk. Very nice large room in one of the buildings off the main street. Quiet, comfortable, and with refrigerator and great bed with nice linens.
Very good breakfast and they even asked for your egg order which was prepared expertly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girardot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments and for taking the time to post them. We are having a great summer, enjoying our visitors and it gives us so much satisfaction to know that you enjoyed your time with us.

Please come and see us again,

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with our first visit to the San Luis Creek Lodge. The rooms were spacious, well decorated, and very clean. The included breakfast was especially a treat. Lots of choices, included made to order eggs. The staff were friendly and helpful, including housekeeping staff, who greeted us warmly whenever we passed. Good value for the price. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonQZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Our staff play a very important role in making guests feel welcome and comfortable and I really appreciate your comments about our housekeepers. I hope we have an opportunity to see you again in the future. Always feel free to call to discuss what is going on in the area, rooms available and anything else we can help you with.

Thanks again, and have a wonderful 4th July,

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

While the appearance of the San Luis Creek Lodge is charming cottage, I experienced some difficulty conducting business due to a faulty WiFi systems. I was told they would need to have a technician fix the problem but I could work in the reception area if an emergency. Unfortunately, not ideal for concentration for an 8:30 am presentation. Also, be aware that prior rooms are given when booking directly with hotel and not through third-party websites like Hotel.com or Travelocity. You most likely will be in a lower floor room facing the parking.

Room Tip: The Plantation Rooms are the furthest from the street and if you can get 606, 608, 620, 626 or 628 y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTravelerPNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the lack of wi-fi connection during your visit. This was indeed a technical problem beyond our ability to fix. We had a technician replace some equipment that was damaged by a very significant and widespread power outage we had recently. Unfortunately the problem did not show itself immediately and on the day you stayed we just discovered the issue. It was fixed by the next day but I do understand your frustration and the inconvenience caused. Unfortunately I do not know how to contact you directly as we did not converse but again I can only apologize. The power outage left 140,000 people without power so I guess an event like that causes many problems. If you decide to stay with us again in the future, please always feel free to contact us to discuss room availability. If you have a room preference we will do our very best to take that into account.

Once again, thank you for taking time out of your day to post these comments, we appreciate it and hope that your presentation went well despite the inconveniece.

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were here last month. Although San Luis Obispo was just a stopover on our way to Los Angeles it was great. The service is excellent. One can even get a DVD at the front desk with free microwave popcorn. How thoughtfull is that? ALso the map with the restaurant tips was nice. The breakfast was good, what do you expect from a breakfast in the States? Muffins in plastic? Cereal and horrible coffee. Here non of this, good coffee, fresh fruit, waffles and pancakes on demand. It was great! Next time we will be back and definitely stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We will look forward to seeing you next time. Feel free to call us for any information or help we may be able to offer. There are always lots of fun things going on from the famous Thursday night Farmer's Market to the summer concerts in the Mission Plaza every Friday evening.

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to post your review. We appreciate it!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Creek Lodge

Property: San Luis Creek Lodge
Address: 1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — San Luis Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of San Luis Obispo's newest hotels, ideally located close to charming downtown San Luis Obispo, 5 minutes from Cal Poly, and just 1 hour to Hearst Castle. Luxury spacious rooms feature premium furnishings, luxury upholstery, top-of-the-line bedding and dual pedestal sink bathrooms with imported tile. Extended Continental breakfast with delicious pastries, different breads, bagels and English muffins to toast, hot fresh oatmeal, scrambled eggs upon request and more, large flat-screen Sony televisions and DVD players. There are complimentary DVD rentals located in the Front Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Luis Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Creek Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Creek Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing