We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't get points, but you won't care”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Luis Creek Lodge
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Not a chain, so if you are hoping for free stays this is not for you. However, breakfast is delicious, rooms are spacious, intricately designed, and clean. The price is very reasonable for what you get. And the WiFi is ACTUALLY fast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajh2m02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 648 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here during our recent trip to California after seeing that it was listed as a recommended place to stay in the Rough Guide.
We got our room at a great discounted price thanks to some bartering by my husband but the room was definitely worth the $159 that we should have paid.
The room was really well presented with an extremely large and comfortable bed. Quality bed linens and furnishings. Coffee maker in a room is always a bonus! Bathroom was also of a good size.
A good breakfast was provided in the inn's breakfast room. It was continental style and there was plenty to choose from. We were also offered scrambled eggs and waffles.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C124MAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

If you can deal with less than stellar customer service, want a place that's not your typical Marriott or Hilton, and don't mind weird interior design, try it!

The office crew looks to be a bunch of college kids running the front office. There is no one there at night. There doesn't seem to be much communication from one shift to the next, which ended up being incredibly frustrating.

When we checked in, we heard this non-stop loud gurgling noise that sounded like a bathtub draining on the floor above us. It sounded like we were in the pipe! I called the gal at the check in desk, and she said, "You are here for 3 days...I think you should move to another room." I asked about just having someone come and see if it was fixable, but the "handyman" was off that day. I went back to the office, and was given a key to look at another room. I walked in, and it had not been cleaned. I went back, the girl apologized, and after consulting her computer screen, gave me a different key. That room was either not cleaned, or the occupant was still there (the TV was on, the bed had been slept in, and the light was on in the bathroom with the door closed.) Again, she apologized, and was not really sure what to do. (The cleaning folks were gone, too...)

I said we'd keep the room we had, and asked her to just have someone look at the gurgling issue. She said she would, and we never heard another word from anyone about it. In fact, I couldn't ever get any information on whether anyone had even looked into the issue. The gurgling continued to be an issue for the 3 nights we were there, but I turned on a white noise program on my phone, and we slept just fine.

This property is made up of 3 themed buildings. We stayed in the Craftsman building. The king bed was comfy, but the room was very full of furniture. Fortunately, it was a spacious room, so there was room for our luggage on the floor. The additional rooms I checked out were in the Londonderry building, and the rooms looked very dark and cramped to me. The Plantation building was supposedly fully booked during our stay, but I never saw more than one car parked there....although there WAS an HVAC company truck parked back there every day....????

On the plus side, the breakfast was good. The breakfast room is nothing fancy, in fact...well, let's just say they could use a professional interior decorator that has experience in the hospitality business.

I'm not sure about this place. It has some corny charm, but surely there are better places to stay in SLO....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank migolfergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Half way from SF to LA via the PCH, we decided to stay overnight here. Squeezed in between a Best Western and Super 8 motel, the location is a bit odd. However, rooms were comfortable although attempts to put everything in room, like microwave and fridge yielded a mis-matched and cluttered appearance. Beds were comfortable and shower great. Timed "heat-lamp" light near shower had non-heat bulb:odd. Biggest complaint was the included b'fast. Although they did make either waffles or scrambled eggs to order, conspicuously missing was any fresh fruit. In the heart of California farm country this is inexcusable. Suggestion to management: drop the meal, lower the price and just call yourself a motel.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank phmokda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

The breakfast is great. The rooms are good sized but way overdone. The staff is incredibly helpful. Good one night stop on a Rt 1 road trip on a street full of motels and a short distance from the downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A few years back when my oldest daughter was at Cal Poly, I stayed here frequently. I recently came back to visit San Luis Obispo with my youngest daughter & wasn't as thrilled as my previous stays. We tried to check in a little early (1 hour) as my daughter wasn't feeling well & nothing was ready (Check in is not until 4) Although the rooms are nice & the breakfast in the morning is a nice amenity, I think they need to overhaul their check-in process & double check that their rooms are ready & nothing is missing. We did not have a "do not disturb" sign & were disturbed a few times. The light in the hallway did not work & it was pitch black trying to navigate the stairway at night! Our room made a loud noise when the air conditioner is turned on.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcwickstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My mother and I came across this gem of a hotel while traveling to Southern California. It is centrally located within walking distance of town among a number of other hotels. I physically checked out 5 local hotels (all within a $10 price variance) along this section of hotels and was blown away by the difference. While this hotel does not look like much from the front it was fabulous. Each of the 3 buildings (all with a differnt theme) is virtually new and extreamly fresh. We had a room with a stone faced fireplace. Some rooms have a view of the mountains. The staff was very helpful, knowledgable and curtious. If you are looking for a place to stay in SLO this is it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
746 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,280 reviews
2.5 mi away
SLO Brew Lofts
SLO Brew Lofts
#9 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Creek Lodge

Address: 1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#5 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $160 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Luis Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of San Luis Obispo's newest hotels, ideally located close to charming downtown San Luis Obispo, 5 minutes from Cal Poly, and just 1 hour to Hearst Castle. Luxury spacious rooms feature premium furnishings, luxury upholstery, top-of-the-line bedding and dual pedestal sink bathrooms with imported tile. Extended Continental breakfast with delicious pastries, different breads, bagels and English muffins to toast, hot fresh oatmeal, scrambled eggs upon request and more, large flat-screen Sony televisions and DVD players. There are complimentary DVD rentals located in the Front Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your San Luis Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Creek Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Creek Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing