We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity at the Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Luis Creek Lodge
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2008

The hotel website speaks for itself. The room in the Londonderry was beautifully decorated with warm earth tones & updated tile work in the restroom. Our desire was to feel comfort & serenity in a plush style room. The large window looked out to the hillside and we watched a brown horse feed. Nice touch. The shower/tub with white robes...sweet .

Now as for the location...freeway access is convenient from the 101. There is a gas station down the street on Monterey & the lodge is approximately a mile from the heart of downtown. Walking there is not as bad as one would think. Down the street visit the Monterey St Wine Co. and also Central Coast Wines. The quarter trolley can also take you to your specific destination if you ask the driver.

My only disappointment was that bottled water was not included for the in room coffee and tea. Thumbs up for the SL Creek

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelhappygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 632 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2008

We stayed for one night. The "Lodge" consists of three buildings squeezed between a Super 8 Motel and "another" motel in a narrow space. Our room was terrific--very large, fireplace, large bathroom, clean, well furnished, etc. No complaints at all. But that's about it. The "lobby" and breakfast area are in a separate building. No grounds, no pool, no "creek" We found breakfast ok--nice to have but nothing special. The employees were very friendly. Well located, near the main downtown and easy access to the highway.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chap4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2008

The lodge is along a strip with many hotels within a stones throw. Don't let that deter you.

We booked a room with two queens. We were in the Londonderry building on the second floor.

The whole facility is new, was neat as a pin and clearly very well maintained. Our room had a gas fireplace, a very large bathroom, two very nicely made beds with fine sheets and bedding. Lovely English/tudor-styled decor. Nice accents but not overdone.

Quiet, warm. We slept like babies.

Breakfast in the main building was very nice. Self-serve eggs, cereals, juices, coffees, etc. Very good quality. Fresh not plastic wrapped.

The innkeepers were very friendly. Free DVD's to loan for the evening. Convenient, safe parking.

2 minutes from downtown SLO.

We've stayed in SLO before. This is easily the best value for the money we've seen. Definitely will return.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cubro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

In SLO for a week on business. The Lodge matched the rate offered by our employer for another (mediocre) motel. The accommodations were outstanding -- very comfortable, clean, and quiet. Staff very helpful. Intend to return with my family as soon as possible. Other than lack of a bathtub -- my wife will love it ;-)

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ofcr_Friendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2008

In a charming town. If you're thinking of a wine tasting trip in this area, this is an excellent choice. We spent 3 nights, two of which we appeared to the only occupants of our "Craftsman" building. As has been mentioned before, there are 3 buidlings with room decor to match the theme. We had the "fireplace special" rate of $129 with a hearty breakfast included. If you're visiting Hearst Castle, it's a lovely 45 minute drive up the coast, to the Edna Valley wineries, about a 15-20 minute ride. Paso Robles wineries are a bit further out. For you Costco members, there is a warehouse with a great local wine selection and a gas station which is considerably cheaper than local stations. Also recommend the Thursday night farmer's market. There was a trolly that stopped right by the Lodge for .25 each way! We'll look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nowornever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

My wife and I came up to San Luis Obispo for a "romantic weekend." Upon arrival, the hotel exterior and staff certainly lived up to the expectations of a #1 ranking. We upgraded to a fireplace room on the third floor (no elevators so get used to stairs) which was only disappointing because it lacked a tub. Friday night was lightly booked and we slept in until noon. Based on the parking lot, on Saturday night the hotel was fully booked and we had neighbors. Let me point out here that the collective ages of my wife and I add up to 102 years and while we certainly enjoy ourselves, our "energy" sure ain't what it was 25 years ago. We ordered pizza delivered to the room, popped a bottle of wine from a local winery and around 10:30 p.m. decided to fulfill our romantic intentions. At 11:15 we got a call from the downstairs neighbor telling us that the "thumping on their ceiling had caused their infant to wake up twice." We were annoyed but stopped having sex as a personal favor to our "neighbors." We would never deny anyone the vanity of children (our four all graduated from colege in the last five years), but, on the other hand, we did not rent a hotel room in the children's wing. This was followed five minutes later by a call from the front desk telling us that there had been "noise complaints." I told the front desk that the first call had pretty much done the job of ruining the night, but if the hotel had an 11:00pm curfew on married couples having an intimate interlude, it ought to be posted.
Bottom line is that these very quaint buildings are very poorly constructed and have virtually no sound-proofing. This was previously noted in an earlier review by guests who were kept awake by ceiling noise in their downstairs unit. In fact, once we were humiliated into silence, throughout the night and morning, we realized that we could hear every footstep, water pipe and THE BABY DOWNSTAIRS CRYING AT 6:15 AM!!! (No we didn't call in a "sound complaint" because we are not pretentious jerks who think the whole world must cater to our whims). When we checked out and we were asked by the person at the front desk, "How was your stay?" we replied, "Terrible." I guess they heard this before because there was no further comment from the person behind the desk. Very, very disappointing experience and we have no intention of returing.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank McAttorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proprietor9, Owner at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2008

We are fortunate to have wonderful guests at our inn. Most come for fun, relaxation, wine tasting, sight seeing, to celebrate special occasions, etc. We are also very fortunate that common sense and common courtesy are appreciated by 99.9% of our guests.

In this instance, we received a call from a very nice downstairs guest who had been listening to furniture banging against walls for over an hour (in addition to a wide assortment of interesting highly audible noises.) Her child had awakened twice and they were concerned that the disruptive behavior upstairs would escalate. It is our responsibility to evaluate noise complaints and respond appropriately. From the description of the high volume noises and unique sounds, it was my determination that the other six rooms in the building may also be listening to some unwanted background noise.

I called the guest and asked if he could just "keep it down" as there had been a noise complaint from downstairs. I stated this in a very matter-of-fact neutral tone and hoped for a reasonably civil (or at least an adult) response.

The guest immediately launched into a tirade, became verbally abusive, and continued to describe in inappropriate detail what he had been doing that evening. His comments were unsolicited and colorful beyond what I've heard in my thirty years in the hotel business. After ranting, raging, and making several unkind remarks about the downstairs guests, he indicated that he would be sensitive to them.

I alerted my morning staff that this particular guest was verbally abusive. They were instructed to be polite upon his departure but not to engage him due to the potential for another explosive outburst. We would have requested and ensured his early departure had he not already been departing the next morning. We and the rest of the building's guests were pleased when he left the premises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

The room was very spacious, they made us most welcome and were very helpful recommending local restaurants etc. We stayed in Plantation and were very impressed by the style, size and presentation of the accomodation. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,442 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
402 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Creek Lodge

Address: 1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $164 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Luis Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of San Luis Obispo's newest hotels, ideally located close to charming downtown San Luis Obispo, 5 minutes from Cal Poly, and just 1 hour to Hearst Castle. Luxury spacious rooms feature premium furnishings, luxury upholstery, top-of-the-line bedding and dual pedestal sink bathrooms with imported tile. Extended Continental breakfast with delicious pastries, different breads, bagels and English muffins to toast, hot fresh oatmeal, scrambled eggs upon request and more, large flat-screen Sony televisions and DVD players. There are complimentary DVD rentals located in the Front Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your San Luis Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Creek Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Creek Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing