We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Luis Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
256 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Half way from SF to LA via the PCH, we decided to stay overnight here. Squeezed in between a Best Western and Super 8 motel, the location is a bit odd. However, rooms were comfortable although attempts to put everything in room, like microwave and fridge yielded a mis-matched and cluttered appearance. Beds were comfortable and shower great. Timed "heat-lamp" light near shower had non-heat bulb:odd. Biggest complaint was the included b'fast. Although they did make either waffles or scrambled eggs to order, conspicuously missing was any fresh fruit. In the heart of California farm country this is inexcusable. Suggestion to management: drop the meal, lower the price and just call yourself a motel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank phmokda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    159
    37
    15
    5
See reviews for
89
322
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

The breakfast is great. The rooms are good sized but way overdone. The staff is incredibly helpful. Good one night stop on a Rt 1 road trip on a street full of motels and a short distance from the downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

A few years back when my oldest daughter was at Cal Poly, I stayed here frequently. I recently came back to visit San Luis Obispo with my youngest daughter & wasn't as thrilled as my previous stays. We tried to check in a little early (1 hour) as my daughter wasn't feeling well & nothing was ready (Check in is not until 4) Although the rooms are nice & the breakfast in the morning is a nice amenity, I think they need to overhaul their check-in process & double check that their rooms are ready & nothing is missing. We did not have a "do not disturb" sign & were disturbed a few times. The light in the hallway did not work & it was pitch black trying to navigate the stairway at night! Our room made a loud noise when the air conditioner is turned on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcwickstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

My mother and I came across this gem of a hotel while traveling to Southern California. It is centrally located within walking distance of town among a number of other hotels. I physically checked out 5 local hotels (all within a $10 price variance) along this section of hotels and was blown away by the difference. While this hotel does not look like much from the front it was fabulous. Each of the 3 buildings (all with a differnt theme) is virtually new and extreamly fresh. We had a room with a stone faced fireplace. Some rooms have a view of the mountains. The staff was very helpful, knowledgable and curtious. If you are looking for a place to stay in SLO this is it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California, United States
Level Contributor
158 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a very nice stay at the San Luis Creek Inn. This hotel has a unique arrangement, in a row of otherwise unremarkable hotels. We stayed in the craftsmen building, and unlike other reviewers we did not hear street noise. Our room had charcter, it was far from the typical motel room you'd finding in any of the neighboring places, it had bay windows, was nicely furnished, with craftsmen style furniture and accents such as lamps. We had a nice mini fridge (not mini bar), microwave and coffee pot. The room included nice extra touches, original artwork on the walls, umbrellas and night lights in the bathroom. The room did not have the motel-smell I am sure you'd finding in many of the other places along "motel row" in SLO. The breakfast was a cut above other chain hotels we've stayed in, a variety of breakfast bread and muffins were available and scrambled eggs or fresh waffles could be ordered. The dining room was charming, every table different, bay windows looking out to the street, and interestingly, I heard several different languages being spoken by the breakfast guests! The hotel is nicely located for visiting the University-the purpose of our visit. Ice water with lemons was available in the lobby, a touch I appreciated so I could fill my water bottle!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Good points - spacious room, double sinks in bathroom, continental breakfast (but go down the street to Splash Cafe for good coffee!)

Bad points - Room and bathroom are dark, blinds were broken, uncomfortable bed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

It doesn't not look like much from the street because it sits between two other large motels but once you get inside your room it is super. Great value for the price. Very comfortable bed, good shower, good cable TV, soft towels, quiet rooms, everything I was hoping for in a motel. We usually stay in a bed and breakfast when we travel. We stayed in the building with an English theme and the furnishings featured beams on the ceilings, four poster bed, etc. it was a clean place. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Croeso2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Creek Lodge

Property: San Luis Creek Lodge
Address: 1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — San Luis Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of San Luis Obispo's newest hotels, ideally located close to charming downtown San Luis Obispo, 5 minutes from Cal Poly, and just 1 hour to Hearst Castle. Luxury spacious rooms feature premium furnishings, luxury upholstery, top-of-the-line bedding and dual pedestal sink bathrooms with imported tile. Extended Continental breakfast with delicious pastries, different breads, bagels and English muffins to toast, hot fresh oatmeal, scrambled eggs upon request and more, large flat-screen Sony televisions and DVD players. There are complimentary DVD rentals located in the Front Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Luis Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Creek Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Creek Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing