We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favoriet”

Niven Family Wine Estates
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Baileyana, Tangent & True Myth Tasting Room pours all of the Niven Family wines! Located in the beautiful Edna Valley, it is the result of almost 45 years of work by a single family, starting when Catharine and Jack Niven first planted grapes here in 1973, founding Paragon Vineyards. Today, the business is operated by second and third generation family members and has grown to include over 30 different wines under five separate labels: Baileyana, Tangent & True Myth are the three most important labels and we also produce smaller production volumes under the Zocker and Trenza labels. All these wines are poured at our tasting room located in the historic Independence Schoolhouse, built in 1909. The current building includes some of the original windows, siding and floorboards, preserving history while adding to a uniquely attractive setting for the tasting room and extensive gift shop. Surrounding the tasting room are expansive picnic areas with stunning views of our SIP-Certified Estate Paragon Vineyard. Two full-size Bocce courts are available for your use, or just sit and enjoy the views of the vines across the valley to the mountains. Wine is available by the glass or bottle to enjoy onsite together with a small selection of cheese, salami and crackers - or bring your own picnic and spend a couple of hours here!
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our Favoriet”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I went in on a beautiful morning. As always, the staff is friendly, courteous, efficient and never make me feel like a dummy. We sampled many wines, both red and white. The wines are delicious, the shop has many items that are not overpriced. We bought a cooler for white wines. There is an outdoor area for drinking wine and eating either your own picnic or something from their cooler. It is a beautiful spot and we stop every time we are in the area. Wines are well balanced, not expensive as far as very good wines go. The ambience makes every trip there a wonderful experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“beautiful landscape and shop, but ok experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our third stop in San Luis Obispo region's winery. It certainly had a beautiful vineyard and landscape. The tasting at this location was ok. The server who assisted us was not as knowledgeable of their wine as we expected. She simply served us the wine without much explanation beside the name and the vintage of the bottle.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“First winery we stopped at in Edna Valley, very nice”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Visiting San Luis Obispo for adults is even more fun if you get to drive around the wine country area and stop at a few of the choice small wineries. We enjoyed Baileyana first, tried quite a few tasty wines for a fee, but we were able to share a tasting and the fee is waived if you buy a bottle of wine - at least that is how I now remember it! A very nice gift/gourmet shop inside, a beautiful setting outside with vistas of the vineyards, places to sit and picnic if that is your desire, clean restrooms, and perfect weather - what more could you want?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ILuvEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day with Friends”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our friends took us to this winery when we traveled to San Luis Obispo recently for a wedding. We absolutely loved the old schoolhouse where the winery is located. We enjoyed the shop, the wine tasting, and the bocce ball! People brought picnic lunches and sat at one of the many tables outside. The grounds were lovely.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank csn279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
578 reviews
252 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 536 helpful votes
“Great Stop in the Beautiful Edna Valley”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We visited this winery while staying the weekend in San Luis Obispo. Located right outside of San Luis Obispo is the Edna Valley with a number of wineries and gorgeous scenery. Of the three wineries we visited, this was our favorite. The tasting room is located in a historic schoolhouse built in 1909 and located on hill with an expansive and beautiful view of the rolling hills covered with vineyards and coastal foothills in the distance. The tasting room includes a very nice gift shop and a pleasant, relaxed tasting area. There are restrooms located in a separate building, patios with tables for relaxing and even a bocce ball court. A family was putting the bocce court to good use the day we were here. I enjoyed wandering and checking out the grapes on the vines and soaking up the wonderful country views. My cousin enjoyed the wines here so much that she signed up for the wine club. This is a must stop if you are ever in the San Luis Obispo area!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MSWMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niven Family Wine Estates also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Niven Family Wine Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing