We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food!”

Splash Cafe and Artisan Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Splash Cafe ~ Artisan Bakery is located in San Luis Obispo, CA. In 2005, we opened this second location in San Luis Obispo and expanded to include an artisan bakery too! The bakery features artisan breads, pastries & desserts baked fresh daily. Each item from the bakery is carefully created and guaranteed to delight your senses.The café has a larger selection of salads and specialty sandwiches as well as signature ‘sun pizzas’! Come and enjoy!
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great pastries, oatmeal and coffee! Very friendly staff! Parking was kind of limited, but the food and service made up for it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Doxie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    145
    44
    19
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy fish 'n chips!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Having experienced the chowder bread bowl in Pismo Beach (excellent), we satisfied our craving for fish 'n chips in San Luis Obispo later that same day. The fish tasted so fresh, and just lightly breaded, perfection! The "chips" were curly fries, very tasty. And to top it off, we split a lemon bar (they're huge) - very good!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Clam Chowder”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our daughter has had chowder in Boston & San Francisco, and told us that Splash was the best. That was 3 years ago and now every trip to SLO includes a vist to Splash. The best is when you add the seafood topping to this rich, delicious delight. I have it with their house salad/ blue cheese and I'm in heaven. You can also order Chowder in a sourdough bowl that is also perfect. They just opened in downtown and the chowder was just as good as ever. In fact, I've been to all three locations, including Pismo. The lines can be long, but worth it. The bakery case on the Monterey St. location is over the top.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pandasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“AMAZING Chowdah + two locations”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

4/2013 - Although this time I only went to the downtown slo location - there is also one in Pismo. It is some of the best chowder you can get in California. A must visit everytime I go to SLO! My recommendation - is Chowder in a bread bowl with a grilled top : http://goshrooney.blogspot.com/2013/06/san-luis-obispo-california.html

Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura County, USA
Level Contributor
200 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good food, central location, good value, exceptional deserts.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch and because of the great variety, all 4 of us found something we liked including the one who is vegetarian. The clam chowder is excellent as well as there other seafood choices. You can stay on your diet here or go all out and order one of there fabulous deserts.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank City_Girls_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splash Cafe and Artisan Bakery also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Splash Cafe and Artisan Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing