We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING Chowdah + two locations”

Splash Cafe and Artisan Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Splash Cafe ~ Artisan Bakery is located in San Luis Obispo, CA. In 2005, we opened this second location in San Luis Obispo and expanded to include an artisan bakery too! The bakery features artisan breads, pastries & desserts baked fresh daily. Each item from the bakery is carefully created and guaranteed to delight your senses.The café has a larger selection of salads and specialty sandwiches as well as signature ‘sun pizzas’! Come and enjoy!
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“AMAZING Chowdah + two locations”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

4/2013 - Although this time I only went to the downtown slo location - there is also one in Pismo. It is some of the best chowder you can get in California. A must visit everytime I go to SLO! My recommendation - is Chowder in a bread bowl with a grilled top : http://goshrooney.blogspot.com/2013/06/san-luis-obispo-california.html

Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    153
    46
    19
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura County, USA
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good food, central location, good value, exceptional deserts.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch and because of the great variety, all 4 of us found something we liked including the one who is vegetarian. The clam chowder is excellent as well as there other seafood choices. You can stay on your diet here or go all out and order one of there fabulous deserts.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank City_Girls_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Two visits - two different experiences”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Three stars - as while in SLO, we went here two times.

Staff: Both visits rated 5 stars on the super nice and helpful

Food: The first visit (lunch) was definitely wonderful - 5 stars, so we went again another day for breakfast - 1 star on the second visit. I had an egg dish that was poorly prepared!

They have many specialty breads from which to choose; their prices are extremely reasonable!; they also have pastries and desserts. We didn't try any of those. It seemed that both locals and tourists were there. Parking in the private lot is limited - lots of street parking.

Will we go again - possibly - just had to return after a horrible food experience -

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveGetAways70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good alternative location to Pismo Beach”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Like: Same good quality of food here, but probably much shorter line compared to the one on Pismo Beach!
Dislike: Small seating area. Come early to secure a table!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WingCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best clam chowder!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

VERY, very nice staff & gorgeous baked goods. Went in for the clams, but couldn't get enough of the buttery chowder. Never tasted anything like it. You CAN get a combo of fish & chips/clams & chips (not on menu). Nicest afternoon ever, sitting on the outside porch, devouring delicious food. Even the iced tea was exceptional.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splash Cafe and Artisan Bakery also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Splash Cafe and Artisan Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing