We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“the reason they call it Famous Splash Cafe...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Splash Cafe and Artisan Bakery

Splash Cafe and Artisan Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Splash Cafe ~ Artisan Bakery is located in San Luis Obispo, CA. In 2005, we opened this second location in San Luis Obispo and expanded to include an artisan bakery too! The bakery features artisan breads, pastries & desserts baked fresh daily. Each item from the bakery is carefully created and guaranteed to delight your senses.The café has a larger selection of salads and specialty sandwiches as well as signature ‘sun pizzas’! Come and enjoy!
slo life
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“the reason they call it Famous Splash Cafe...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

the reason they call it Famous Splash Cafe...Consistently good , fresh food,. Try their famous chowder, super! Their fresh made, onsite, bakery, oh yeah, that's what I'm talking about! I have had swordfish sandwich, on special, mmmmmm GOOD!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank chewbac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    134
    40
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best for Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I like to make it over to here for breakfast when I can. Its the best for your buck, and you can usually avoid some of the downtown foot-traffic since its down Monterrey a bit. I often order their grilled cheese sandwiches (What can I say? I'm a child at heart!) and they are delicious!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brittanyshea14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Clam Chowder Bowl!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great clam chowder in a sour dough bowl. Thick and creamy with large chunks of clams. Your spoon will stand up in this chowder!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RxDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
694 reviews
353 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Best Clam Chowder!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Been to the one in Pismo several times so decided to I would give the Splash Cafe in SLO a try. I liked the decor of the interior and the seating area is nicer then the restaurant in Pismo. They also have a yummy bakery. Love the Bread Bowl with the seafood topping!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RockNCreekGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I have heard about this place therefore I was excited to try it...The food was terrible and it tasted as if the food was sitting there for a while...The restaurant was dirty and the staff was goofying and standing around...I was not impress and I will not be back again...A remodeled is well needed.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lsalfaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splash Cafe and Artisan Bakery also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Splash Cafe and Artisan Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing