We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciopinot

Ciopinot
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were in San Luis Obispo and stopped in for dinner at Ciopinot's. I could not say anything bad as the food and service were wonderful and we hope to return one day soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    57
    19
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great food, good for large parties, fab wine list, the owner is charming and friendly, the service is great.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sande W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLO
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best in Downtown S.L.O.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We are locals and this is our favorite restaurant in the Downtown. Most of their fish is locally caught and delivered from the restaurants pier market in Port San Luis. All the dishes are great. The seafood fettuccine is one our favorites. Try the crab cakes and Ciopinot stock. The service at this restaurant is outstanding and the staff very friendly. Most nights the owner or his son are working. Always a nice touch. The great bonus to this restaurant is no corkage fee for wine. Very much appreciated.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OKtoGOnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food no corkage fee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great food - best feature, they do not charge a corkage fee. If you are a wine drinker this can be huge.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

After having moved to San Luis about 6 months ago, it has become a bit of a joke between my husband and I to find good local food aside from sushi, so we were thrilled with our experience at Ciopinot. We made reservations about 10 minutes in advance, and brought our own bottle of wine(no corkage fee before 4 bottles). We enjoyed an ahi appetizer, the special halibut and market lobster. It was a little pricy for a non-event dinner, but the food was fresh, well prepared so I didn't have a problem with the cost. I like it when seafood restaurants have a minimal menu, and the majority is what was fresh caught. Our server was Shawna, and she did an excellent job. The blueberry cobbler was delicious!

It will cost you a bit more than elsewhere, but good service, nice environment, and tastey food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kjberms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciopinot also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Ciopinot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing