We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great except for the breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peach Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peach Tree Inn
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great except for the breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have stayed in this motel several times. It is quiet, clean and well kept. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The whole property has a friendly welcoming atmosphere. The bed was comfortable and the room well appointed. The only disappointment was breakfast. There used to be home made breads that you cut yourself which made that fact that toast was the main breakfast seem special. Now, not so much. I did enjoy the fresh strawberries. Otherwise cereal an muffins. It is kind of funny, on the website they show three "chefs" in tall white hats serving breakfast. I'm not sure if they supposedly put the pre-sliced bread in the toaster for you or what. Otherwise, I do like the place.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back. It is quieter and a friendlier atsmophere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    226
    52
    18
    12
See reviews for
118
249
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I really don't have anything to add to the review I gave of the Peach Tree Inn from our first stay two years ago.

This motel is very pretty, in a quiet (but close) part of town, basic but homely, clean and safe and very, very good value. And the staff are great.

After two stays now I would still have no hesitation is recommending the Peach Tree Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LDN_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

This is an old fashioned motel, no doubt dating back to when Monterrey St. was highway 101. It has, however, been lovingly maintained and upgraded appropriately.
A farmhouse style building and a dozen or so rooms face the street. The 'house' is the office and contains the breakfast area. Behind the house are several more building containing more rooms. At the back of the lot are the "Creekside" rooms. While all the rooms are adequate the creekside rooms have a sitting area and each has a private porch overlooking San Luis Obispo Creek.
Finally there is a grassy area with a huge eucalyptus and a swing, an excellent complementary breakfast, and exceptionally nice people.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank chpskt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia M, Guest Relations Manager at Peach Tree Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your stay and your review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The peach tree inn is easily accessable to the freeway and was very easy to spot. We were given a room just down the hill from the office (i don't recall the number) You are asked to park your vehicle in front of your room. I tried to meet that request, but the spot was on an incline and I drive a manual transmission. When I asked the front desk attendant if I could park elsewhere or be moved rooms, he suggested I back in!

The room itself was just OK. The paint color was a strident yellow that clashed with the bedspread and the pastel pink bathroom.... but hey, I couldn't see it with my eyes closed.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank knuvita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia M, Guest Relations Manager at Peach Tree Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and alert us to a shortfall in our guest service. I have shared your review with my staff and stressed the importance of accommodating every guest to the best of our ability. Regarding the parking space, our hotel is built on a hill and many of the rooms are on a slight slope. I will talk to my staff about allowing guests to be creative with parking when the incline is a problem. Regarding the wall color; we are in the process of repainting all of the rooms to our signature Peach Tree color. I hope you will give us another chance on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Peach Tree Inn! What the heck happened? We have stayed three times in the past year or so, and the first two times were just great. We were greeted by personnel at the front desk with a hearty welcome, served strawberry lemonade and enjoyed a clean room.

But this last time (June 2014), we were greeted by an indifferent young man who checked us in, and when asked about the strawberry lemonade said, "If I get a free minute, I might make some up." A free minute? There were NO other patrons in the lobby, NO patrons in the kitchen/dining area. I think he was surfing the internet when we arrived, but I can't be sure.

We went back an hour later, still no lemonade. There never was any lemonade. But I guess it still is served on occasion, since we were told it might be available...later.

The room was OK, the location is great - walk to the SLO farmer's market on Thursday night (highly recommended). The breakfast was your standard continental breakfast fare - but I recommend going to the Apple Farm next door for breakfast (probably overpriced, but VERY good).

I guess I shouldn't put so much emphasis on the strawberry lemonade, but coupled with the tremendous attitude of the woman who was our host the first two times we visited, it really made a difference. Without the cheery attitude and fun snack of lemonade, the Peach Tree Inn is just another motel along 101. Sorry, Peach Tree Inn, you just didn't do it for us this time.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back, along the creek. Nice and quiet. Other rooms (near the street) aren't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howie9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia M, Public Relations Manager at Peach Tree Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and alert us to a shortfall in our guest service. I apologize and thank you for your multiple stays with us. I have shared your review with my staff and stressed the importance of a “hearty welcome” for each and every guest. I have also reminded them to always follow through with satisfying a guest request. Regarding the strawberry lemonade, I’m sorry we did not provide it during your stay. We usually provide lemonade every day. And when we can get good fresh strawberries, we add those to the lemonade. I hope you will give us another chance on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottage
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here which surpassed our expectations. The price is good value. We had a king room at the back which had a lovely deck overlooking a small creek. The room was very well equipped and the bed very comfortable. There are nice little touches like swings to sit on and enjoy the sun and the pleasant view of the hills. Great accommodation for SLO.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank simonjdawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a small cozy hotel with a relaxing feel to it. The rooms are always clean and there are warm and inviting outdoor seating areas. The breakfast is pretty decent and it's free. The trolley bus stops right out front of the hotel which is convenient. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back, the ones out front are a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#14 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peach Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peach Tree Inn

Property: Peach Tree Inn
Address: 2001 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Peach Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peach Tree Inn is a home-style inn centrally located in friendly San Luis Obispo. Our caring front desk staff know San Luis Obispo well and are eager to assist you in making your stay most enjoyable.Located on the edge of town, our Inn allows visitors the ability to carry on business-as-usual, or to escape from the hurried world to relax on the porch, gaze at the hillside and chat with interesting travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Peach Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peach Tree Hotel San Luis Obispo
Peach Tree Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing