We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The basics done well”
Review of Peach Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peach Tree Inn
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Montauroux, France
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The basics done well”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Continuing our drive down the West coast of California, we were booked in for an overnight stop in the Peach Tree Inn. For an overnight stop, we simply want the basics to be done properly: friendly, welcoming and helpful reception; an impeccably clean room and bathroom; a comfortable bed and pillows, quiet, and the right temperature in the room (heat or air conditioning, depending on season) for a good night's sleep; somewhere to park not too far away; space for our things; a good, free, wifi connection; somewhere reasonable to eat (close by or in the hotel), and a good quality - not necessarily copious - breakfast; all at reasonable cost. Tea and coffee-making facilities are a big plus, though I'll manage without if I can get refreshments when I want them. Also not essential but a definite plus (for us anyway): a safe, fridge and/or minibar, iron and board. Fitness/sauna/pool? Not for an overnight stop, though if course all these things count for longer stays.
So, I am working up to reviewing our overnight stay in this hotel. On all counts it met my criteria apart from the breakfast. It may seem petty, but I abhor having to use plastic "cutlery" and paper plates; for me, it really is penny-pinching and does not belong in a hotel of otherwise excellent prestations. Overall this hotel did what I wanted; indeed it passed my tests with flying colours, apart, of course for the plastic knives and forks and paper plates
There are many other hotels in the same area, but we were very happy with this choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bebechoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    234
    55
    20
    13
See reviews for
126
255
34
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had a room in the front. Small and dated as has been mentioned. The weakest link was the bed which squeaked a lot and had that low end bouncy feeling. There was a great shower with tub in the room,

Breakfast included lots of muffins, hot cereals as well as cold and fruit. Lots of spreads for the muffins and bagels. It was better than I expected.

The best was the staff. Nice, attentive and generally friendly all around. The cleaning folks smiled and said hello and of course the front desk staff both morning and evening were great. That made all the difference!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Were exceptionally impressed with all aspects of our stay from the staff to the room, the bed and the breakfast. An older property but very well maintained and clean. And the price wasn,t bad either. Would without any hesitation recommend to other travellers.

Room Tip: We had the King room on the front just to the right of the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westgateman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We booked our trip about a week in advance but I guess the holiday weekend (Cesar Chavez Day) was a popular one for travel as lots of the hotels were fully booked. Peach Tree Inn had a room for one night and so we stayed there on Saturday. It looks nicer on the outside for sure. Our room was certainly clean and functional but clearly dated. The shower is a tiny stall shower, with a little bitty shelf which does not hold any of your bath products so they have to be on the floor. Breakfast was alright. The room was very crowded and we actually had to ask another couple if we could share their table. The place could certainly use some sprucing up. Lots of people go to this town for vacation, college visits, etc, and i know they all book solid. We probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here twice now, about a year apart. Both times we were entirely satisfied. Convenient to the freeway, yet very quiet and peaceful. Not a cookie-cutter place; a bit quirky and charming. Immaculately clean. We like the rear units which are backed by a green belt area, and have nice patios.

Room Tip: Although a bit more expensive, the rooms in the back are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imvioletsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Great location, great hospitality, rooms are nice. Newly appointed rooms are in the back and quiet however, small but quaint and beds were a little hard four our taste..not a Marriott quality but okay if you have less back issues and are less picky. Don't expect much of their continental breakfast. We opted to eat out on Sunday a.m. as the offerings were slim as we found out on Saturday a.m.

All in all though, I would stay there again, possibly bringing a foam topper if I were to stay more than a night or two.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the property are off the street and quiet and more private. Rooms 141 And 142 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmn58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at the Peach Tree Inn over school break and I thought it was a decent place, the furnishing and bedding were a bit dated but it was functional and comfortable room. The breakfast was very good for a free meal, flavorful coffee, fresh fruit, pastries and delicious oatmeal. On the second night the people next door were talking loudly around 2 p.m. and you could here through the walls but other than that we enjoyed our stay. My daughter found their free movie lending library and she enjoyed watching a show, a nice touch.

Room Tip: My sister's family stayed in back and it was a more up to date room and she said it was very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmgraham200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,380 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
350 reviews
2.4 mi away
No photo provided
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peach Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peach Tree Inn

Property: Peach Tree Inn
Address: 2001 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Peach Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peach Tree Inn is a home-style inn centrally located in friendly San Luis Obispo. Our caring front desk staff know San Luis Obispo well and are eager to assist you in making your stay most enjoyable.Located on the edge of town, our Inn allows visitors the ability to carry on business-as-usual, or to escape from the hurried world to relax on the porch, gaze at the hillside and chat with interesting travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Peach Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peach Tree Hotel San Luis Obispo
Peach Tree Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing