We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Goshi

Goshi
Ranked #13 of 302 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Loved the fact that their staff is mostly Japanese - their creations are innovative, yet true to the tradition of sushi. Lots of fresh, wild caught fish on the menu.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    28
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Japanese Restaurant in SLO County”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I've tried as many as I can find, and I still think Goshi is the best Sushi in San Luis Obispo! Everything is fresh and amazing. They have a wonderful vegetarian roll too, probably the best I've tried anywhere, but the regular sushi is to die for also. I eat here about once a week and never get tired of it. The soups are great and the sake is a must! They serve veggies & dipping sauce with it that are very addicting. And the Green Tea Mochi is out of this world. I've never tried anything here that I didn't like. And I'm sure I will be a weekly visitor for a long time to come.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 588kenbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ring in the new year with great food, super services and freebies...”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

What is better than an authentic Japanese dinner with the freshest slices of sashimi or aesthetically beautiful presentations of different dishes? Goshi has these and more to offer especially if you go on New Year's Eve! For those of you who might not know, new years is a big deal in Japan. So Goshi does its own stateside celebrating with...free sake, free soba noodles and a chance to win prizes which included Japanese beer, Japanese sake or a gift certificate to the restaurant just to name a few...service is always good and the restaurant is always packed. Reservations are a must but if sushi or other delicacies are what you crave, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank unchartedexperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, CA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

If you are a fan of Japanese food there is unlikely a better restaurant than Goshi's. The seaweed salad with sesame dressing was brilliant in flavor. The ell roll is lightly wrapped so it holds together yet is light on the tongue. We had to wait about 20 minutes on a Wednesday night but once inside the service was excellent. I could go on and on but don't want to bore you, just treat yourself and go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MitchSonora_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,354 helpful votes
“Outstanding Japanese Food”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Make sure you call to see if a reservation is needed - otherwise you may have to wait because this place is hopping! Great food - boats, rolls, bowls, etc....Sushi Bar available as well as tables. They also have green tea ice cream, tasty! Service is great and friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank melsdad2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goshi also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Goshi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing