We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Japanese which serve so many varieties of fish cheeks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goshi

Goshi
Ranked #10 of 286 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Japanese which serve so many varieties of fish cheeks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

For those who love eating Kama Kanpachi (grilled amberjack cheek), Kama Hamachi (grilled yellowtail cheek) this is the place to go!

The day we visited they have so many other choices (look at the manu on the white board for today's manu): Bluefin Tuna cheek, Salmon cheek on top of the regular choices you would see in most of the Japanese restaurants. We ordered a Amberjack and a tuna cheek on top of 6 sushi rolls and 9 pieces of chef's sashimi! The tuna cheek was gigantic and we ended up packing the tuna cheek for home (and it was good for a meal for two people!)

We live in San Francisco and have many choices of Japanese but this one will certainly stand out if it opened in SF!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingfrogs600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    27
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only authentic Japanese food in SLO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Goshi reminds me of when I lived in Tokyo. Great food, tucked away, tight quarters, attentive service, very Japanese.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHiker44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I eat here at least once a week...my very favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Goshi's is my very favorite restaurant not only for the delicious and beautifully prepared food but also for the friendly and capable staff who greet me by name. The fish is fresh and lots of local choices. There are lots of veggie choices and great salads. Both of my kids enjoy Goshi's. I enjoy an early lunch there the most as evening can get very busy with long wait times and noise. They have two outside tables and on a nice day they are the best. Favorite dishes: Tuna Tataki, veggie rolls and the very best spicey tuna rolls! They have great lunch specials that are genreous proportions. This place will not disappoint you!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“the only place to go for sushi in slo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

ooooooh goshi's i love you so much. your garlic chip roll haunts my dreams. this is, by far, the BEST sushi in san luis obispo. i love everything about it. from yuki, to the sketchy stairs to the bathroom, the warm greetings, knowing at least 2 other couples in there at almost all times, the intimacy of the dining room, but most of all the two seats at the far right of the bar, on a date night with my husband... hot sake, miso soup, sashimi, tataki...
the quality of the fish is phenomenal. i like the fact that their fish isn't all covered up in weird over-the-top sweet or mayonnaise-y sauces. and maybe it's the sake, but i always leave happier than when i arrived. so, thanks yuki and everyone at goshi's for maintaining the comfortable, small town-feel of this restaurant and integrity of what tsurugi's was all about.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolasamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A good find, this Japanese Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I was surprised to find such a good Japanese restaurant in this city. The food was very good and the many small portions of my sashimi combo was so filling at $22. This restaurant has Japanese cooks/workers so it is visually authentic. The restaurant was full at 8 pm on a Sunday night so I felt good about eating here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 206jazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goshi also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Goshi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing