We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tri-tip to Die For”
Review of Firestone Grill

Firestone Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Tri-tip to Die For”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Firestone Grill is a popular staple for residents of San Luis Obispo and students and staff at the nearby Cal Poly University. It's primarily a raucous sports bar with multiple large-screen TVs lining the walls of the largest eating room. There is table service at the tables near the TVs but people who place their food and beverage orders at the cashier station also have a place to eat away from the noisy screens. Firestone Grill also has a large outdoor seating area that is very popular for most of the year due to SLO's awesome weather.

The range of food choices isn't particularly wide at this restaurant; it's mostly what you'd expect from a sport bar in a college town. But without a doubt, the top item they sell is a Tri-Tip Sandwich. When you place your order for it with the cashier you can specify rare meat, making it a rare treat indeed. The french fries are shoe-strings and they have a great, mild seasoning to them. Drinks are self-serve from a huge and very we'll stocked fountain machine. They must have 20 different options for beverages.

If you're in San Luis Obispo around mealtime, you could do a lot worse than stopping by the Firehouse Grill for a super sandwich.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    282
    60
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best bbq in the world”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

the tri tip is amazing, the hot dogs are amazing, the atmosphere is amazing. I LOVE this place. if you're in San Luis Osbispo make SURE you eat here. it's fantastic. yum!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great quick eats”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband wanted a tri-tip sandwich so we called our friend who is from SLO and he said that this was the place to go. He was right! The atmosphere leaves a lot to be desired but the food was great. I had the pig sandwich and my husband the tri-tip and we were both very pleased. The portions and generous so order accordingly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank I'mPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Fries Ever”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Their fries are delicious. Have yet to find better. Order the small fries for two people. Good burgers, great tri-tip sandwiches, and nice salads. Fun atmosphere. If you're going to sit at the bar and the ordering line is long, you'll probably get your food quicker from the wait staff in the bar area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deestore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious Tri-Tip Sandwich”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

very similar to Armadillo Willy's in the SF Bay Area. You go up to the counter, order and get a number. I ordered a tri-tip sandwich and a side salad - both were delicious! My wife ordered a steak cobb salad and it was kinda of boring. It was packed at lunch time and they have a good selection of beer. We sat inside but when the weather is good they have great outdoor seating with heat lamps.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DJKsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firestone Grill also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Firestone Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing