We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hip vibrant boutique hotel perfect for wine country base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Granada Hotel and Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
643 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
“Hip vibrant boutique hotel perfect for wine country base”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

PS this is HOTEL not a B & B and is misclassified by Trip Advisor!

My wife and I have traveled throughout the world and have also been fortunate to have traveled throughout California and in particular in wine country and absolutely love this place.
This is a beautiful hip and amazing downtown hotel in heart of SLO (only one in the area). We usually stay in Paso Robles and have enjoyed our stay there however you cant beat parking your car in the back lot and walking to downtown area and having nice meal, drinking and walking back to the cool Granada Bistro with terrace with heat lamps and sipping some more wonderful wine (they actually have an amazing wine selection .. . .not just from California as we had an amazing Spanish wine from R. López de Heredia Viña Tondonia, S.A. kudos to their Sommelier for such an amazing selection!)

Pros: Downtown location, hip vibe with beautiful terrace in restaurant and terrace on 2nd floor which is only open to hotel guests, free parking, amazing friendly service, beautifully appointed rooms which we loved they even have C.O. Bigelow Apothecaries toiletries from NYC (really cool touch!)

Cons: No fault of their own but Thursdays is a Farmers market so the streets are closed off however they called and let us know where we can park and that they would validate the parking at that location (really nice service related touch), there is no elevator but there is only two floors but that might be an issue for mobility impaired individuals (they might have a service elevator that people with those issues might use but I would inquire with hotel staff first as we arent mobiliy impaired) Otherwise no cons from our end!

Cons:

This is absolutely a cool spot . . . the exposed brick and beautiful furnishings and top notch service makes this a great spot to be a base for exploring wine country and one of the best things is you can actually walk to downtown SLO attractions which we loved ! and of course there is a cool bar/restaurant with wonderful wine. You cant lose staying here.


This will now be our go to place in Paso Robles/SLO wine country as we absolutely loved this place!

Room Tip: Get room not facing main street (Morro) as garbage trunk came by in AM and made some noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonanJordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    47
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
28
130
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Traveling down the coast from SF to LA we diverted a few miles inland to SFO for the first time. We choose the Granada (based on location and online reviews) and couldn't have made a better choice. We arrived in the morning on a weekend without a reservation and Lisa ( I believe that was her name, she's from MN) showed us the rooms that were available and checked us in immediately. The rooms are well appointed, clean and most importantly have comfortable beds. Loved the natural exposed brick walls and color scheme. The bathroom had a walk in shower ( I hate tub showers) and the amenities were great. The location is in the heart of downtown SLO and other then going for a couple of hikes out of town we never needed to us our car (free parking).
The décor and choice of colors in the entire establishment really worked. You're cheating yourself if you don't stay here. We're going to make a return trip to the area with the Granada as one of the main reasons for it.
As we never visited SLO before the staff was very helpful with recommendations and directions.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

If you like the charm of a boutique hotel- you'll want to check this one out. The photos and description on line - accurately depict the property. You can park your car and walk to fabulous restaurants and shops. Our room was cozy, clean, and comfortable. Though the room is compact, the space is used well. I loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have spent nearly 100 nights in SLO on business over the past two years and I've tried a dozen different hotels in the process. The Granada has by far the most authentically "local" vibe of a them all, capturing the folksy, college-and-cow-town-and-California-Mission atmosphere of this lovely Central Coast city with a unique flair. Rooms combine century-old red-brick-and-mahogany with modern touches like a glass/tile shower that opens to the room in a way that seems to whisper "just relax!" to any lingering anxieties or inhibitions. The hotel's several public spaces are cozy (couches and fireplaces) but spacious with an outdoorsy atmosphere that fits the near perfect climate and invites convivial chat. Food is good. Drinks are great. Staff is attentive without getting in the way. The whole place is both romantic and charming ("Charmantic?") in that it invites you to be deeply comfortable. That works if you're traveling on business or vacationing with someone special. I'm looking forward to my next trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HobartSBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Traveling to SoCal from Marin for thanksgiving, my husband and I wanted to break up the long drive and stay along the Central Coast of CA. We'd never been to SLO so decided to check it out. After a quick web search using my favorite keyword (luxury), I found the Granada Hotel. Well...it did not disappoint. Located in the middle of a college town with a variety of shopping and dinning options, the hotel is in a converted old brick building. The overall hotel design is lovely and would be interesting to anyone who enjoys contemporary and traditional styling. Granada has a great, lively vibe that is suitable for young and not so young. We had a suite with a great bathroom -- the shower stall was really cool with an exposed brick wall and good water pressure. The comfortable queen bed had nice linens, and the room was made complete by having a fireplace, small but viewable flat-screen tv and plenty of space for the two of us. Super lotions and potions -- great size soap, too. Our room faced out on a slightly busy street so there was some early morning truck delivery noise but there really weren't other options since the hotel is wedged in between other buildings in the heart of the old downtown. By no means was the noise a deal killer. On second floor is a light-filled living room lounge area with an outdoor deck that had views of town and the tree-lined street below. Hosted coffee/tea available in the morning. Friendly service at check in by Kathleen and great check out service by Celia (I think) a graduate of Swiss Hospitality College. Nice bikes are available for free to bop around the town; just ask. The perfect hotel for parents wanting to scope out Cal Poly or for couples wanting to do wine tasting and visit the nearby Avila Beach. Would be a nice property for a small group wedding party, too!

Room Tip: Stay on the Second Floor -- Lots of natural light and the rooms are quieter. First floor has a coupl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willylabradoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Granada, fondly referred to by locals as the G-Spot, is a sultry and seductive boutique hotel that brings the a taste of international culture and cuisine to the Central Coast. It's my favorite after-work-drink-spot as the ambiance transports me from my daily responsibilities to another more exotic space and time. Or maybe its the wine. Either way, The Granada gives me the unique experience of feeling simultaneously on vacation in a swanky European town and while being very comfortably settled at home. Eric always has a new Malbec or Tempranillo for me to try with my favorite cheese platter. The staff is consistently pleasant, efficient, and clearly trained to pay attention to details. I'm always pleased to acquaint my out-of-town guests with one of San Luis Obispo's gems.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the granada; the location is suberp..walking distance to all of the good stuff in SLO e.g., the mission, movies, shopping and restaurants. We didn't eat at the bistro downstairs but enjoyed the bistro's delicious appetizers and drinks in the common upstairs lovely sitting room, which has an outside patio, a cool fireplace and a great atmosphere.The bistro provides a great scene and the food I am sure is as the delicious as the starters. The rooms are on the small side but the cool decor and excellent bedding makes up for a lot. Very nicely decorated with a european feel.The hotel provides bikes free of charge, which is a great way to cruise the area, staff is friendly and nice and overall the stay was great!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 79patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.2 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granada Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granada Hotel and Bistro

Property: Granada Hotel and Bistro
Address: 1126 Morro St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3604
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Granada Hotel and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel and restaurant serving farm-to-table dishes inspired by Spanish cuisine. The hotel includes 17 rooms: 3 Classic, 10 Deluxe, and 4 Suites with balconies. The design exposes the raw elements of the original 1920's building. Each well-appointed room features original hardwood floors, exposed brick walls, antique Persian rugs, original artwork and the finest textiles. They are 100% non-smoking and offer air-conditioning, LCD flat-screen TVs, and bath products by C&O Bigelow and Kiki de Montoarnasse. Also included in the rate is a complimentary Linus Bikes for touring the area. Granada is situated in the heart of downtown San Luis Obispo, making it easy for guests to enjoy a wide range of activities including wine tasting, hiking through the lush countryside, a day at the beach, golfing, or strolling downtown shops and restaurants. The world famous Farmers Market is located one block from the hotel, and is held every Thursday night. Oprah Winfrey and National Geographic recently named this ‘the happiest city in America’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granada Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing