We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for work or play”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Granada Hotel and Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel for work or play”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Upon check in you notice that the Granada is something a little different. Rather than giving you a plastic room card and sending you on your way the host leads you. To your room, lets you in and then gives you your key - a physical, metal key. The room spaces are funky, carved out of the old building with raw brick interiors in many surfaces. The toiletries are something you'd choose to use, and the beds a comfortable. I had the pleasure of staying here on a business trip, but couldn't stop thinking this would be a great spot for an adult get away. The restaurant has wonderful food and a great selection of local wines.

At the end of the trip I discovered that my Internet rate had not been honored. It took a couple of emails, but was rectified th e following week.

Room Tip: The front is a little louder, but the Juliet balcony is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgolovko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    47
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
28
130
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is aesthetically pleasing. I enjoyed a stay with a friend and can't wait to come back with my husband. It is great to be right in the middle of town in proximity to all the great shops and restaurants that SLO has to offer -- and with a parking space! The rooms are small, but we had fun hanging out in the common areas and had some fun conversations around the fire with the other guests while enjoying a glass of wine from the restaurant/bar downstairs.

One somewhat large drawback that I saw mentioned in another review: Loud banging noises all night long from somewhere nearby. Could they have been moving furniture on the roof during the wee hours while pressure washing the parking lot in the dark?? I have no idea what all the noise was about -- but it was disturbing. I guess the rest of the experience was so charming that I will give it another try...but I will make sure to bring earplugs next time. :)

Kudos to the staff for being extraordinarily friendly and helpful. In every way from the phone reservation to the needle and thread given for my friends' missing button, the service was top notch!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CloudGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We recently spent one night at the Granada Hotel in San Luis Obispo. It was a little difficult to find the parking for the hotel, but no real problem. The room, recently redone, was beautiful It is a revamped hotel with exposed brick and exposed beams. The Shower, with exposed brick was huge and had a seat for steaming, gorgeous. The staff was exceptionally helpful and courteous. The only thing I would like to suggest for improvement is that the curtains let in a lot of light. The hotel is on the street in downtown SLO and the curtains do not block the light either at night or in the morning. That could be a quick adjustment by the Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peacetraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Arrived to find out we were upgraded to a suite after purchasing a deluxe room due to availability which was unexpected but much appreciated. The suite came with a small balcony and large windows overlooking the street in front on the hotel. The room was a little small compared to other suites but was perfectly thought out with above average amenities and a gas fireplace that worked perfectly. The bed was very comfortable and given the location of the suite within the hotel it was very quiet and private as well. The staff could not have been more friendly and helped me with a few requests that were out of the ordinary (I had to print a few items and since they don't have a business center the front desk allowed me to email them a few things so they could print them for me). I've stayed at a few other locations in San Luis Obispo but the Granada was the best by far. I will return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxk8joshxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford,
Level Contributor
136 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This building is not designed to be a hotel. There were odd screeching and banging noises in the room. Strange smell from the fake log fire. If you open the curtains other people can see into your room. Generally too little space. I can understand the brothel theme - since this was once a brothel. Personally I found it inconvenient and not worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ProfessorCalculus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Granada Hotel is a wonderful hotel. With only 17 rooms and a common area and patio in the middle. The accomodations were very comfy, the staff is very accomodating and the location can't be beat. In the center of the downtown area, walking distance to everything downtown makes for a delightful get-away. Everything down to the music choice in the bistro was a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sande W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Room #13 for three nights in mid-January. We were excited to be among the first guests of this ambitious remodeling project and we were delighted with our stay. As other reviewers have already noted, the vibe is great here, the downtown location is a real plus, the employees are friendly and the Bistro cuisine is wonderful. The rooms are quite small, even our "Suite" felt a little snug. The decor is quite impressive throughout the hotel as are the fire pits in several different areas of the building. As evening approaches, the staff puts out candles in many areas of the second floor, which adds a nice touch to an already-nice place. There is limited parking in a small lot behind the hotel but drivers of larger vehicles may find the very narrow alley that leads to it much too tight a fit. There's freshly brewed coffee in the morning for guests and, although it might have been nice to have some muffins/breakfast pastries to nibble on, there are a lot of good restaurants around that serve up a tasty breakfast. Two slight complaints: the Bistro's wine list is fairly limited (I thought more local wines would be featured) and expensive. When I went to charge dinner to the room, I was more than a little surprised to discover that out waiter had already added a gratuity to the charge. He said it was "Hotel Policy" but I would have appreciated the ability to tip the amount I wanted instead of having it ordained for me. Other than that though, our stay here was quite enjoyable. I noticed a room on the first floor with two massage tables side by side. They looked enticing and maybe we'll have the time to book some massages for our return visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingManVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
691 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
596 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
375 reviews
1.2 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,538 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granada Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granada Hotel and Bistro

Property: Granada Hotel and Bistro
Address: 1126 Morro St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3604
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Granada Hotel and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel and restaurant serving farm-to-table dishes inspired by Spanish cuisine. The hotel includes 17 rooms: 3 Classic, 10 Deluxe, and 4 Suites with balconies. The design exposes the raw elements of the original 1920's building. Each well-appointed room features original hardwood floors, exposed brick walls, antique Persian rugs, original artwork and the finest textiles. They are 100% non-smoking and offer air-conditioning, LCD flat-screen TVs, and bath products by C&O Bigelow and Kiki de Montoarnasse. Also included in the rate is a complimentary Linus Bikes for touring the area. Granada is situated in the heart of downtown San Luis Obispo, making it easy for guests to enjoy a wide range of activities including wine tasting, hiking through the lush countryside, a day at the beach, golfing, or strolling downtown shops and restaurants. The world famous Farmers Market is located one block from the hotel, and is held every Thursday night. Oprah Winfrey and National Geographic recently named this ‘the happiest city in America’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granada Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing