We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, warm and friendly setting.”
Review of Big Sky Cafe

Big Sky Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food, warm and friendly setting.”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant last year and it was so busy we had to wait for at least 40 minutes. This time we didn't wait at all. This was a Sunday night. The restaurant is warm and friendly. You feel like you are outside. Large windows appear like an overhead door to the outdoors. The food is eclectic and very good. I had eggplant lasagna and it was so very good. They have many different beers and wines available. Our server wasn't the greatest, but that happens from time to time.

Helpful?
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    254
    53
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Jalepeno Cornbread & Great Soup”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I've had the luck and pleasure of visiting this restaurant on 2 separate trips to the SLO area. I prefer going to this restaurant for lunch or brunch, but find their menu is exquisite and varietal for all meal times. If you are not used to eating organic / direct from the farm foods, the food can test your system, as my fiance can attest to. That said, it is one of the better healthier choices in the area, with options for just about everyone. If anything, you must try out their table bread selection - it is delicious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila Beach, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Local food, unique and delicious!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Delicious and unique food! I had a really difficult time picking something out. Everything sounded so good!

My husband had the truffle mac and cheese with peas and served with a side of kale salad...it was amazing! I decided to go with the classic BLT which was also great and made with a pesto mayo, awesome vine-ripened tomatoes and really good bacon. It came with this white bean curry soup - just delicious!

The guy we went to lunch with said we need to come back for breakfast because their breakfast food it supposed to be the best

The server was really laid back and everyone who came by greeted my little guy (10 months), which was really nice! I'll definitely be back - probably to try the breakfast food!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistent quality and good value.”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a favorite for the interesting food variety and reasonable prices. It is fashionable and fun without trying too hard. People always look like they are having a good time and enjoying their meals at Big Sky. It's just what you want in a restaurant - home away from home - with someone else doing the cooking. A plus for me: the vegetarian and vegan options available.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CloudGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great meal at a reasonable price”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The staff at our B&B recommended this restaurant so our party (4 adults) had dinner here on a Friday night, waiting only about 10 minutes for a table. Food quality and service were both very good, and the place has a nice "vibe". The menu has something for everyone (fish, meat, and vegetarian choices), and they also have a decent selection of local wines and draft beer. Our total bill including tip was $35 per person, which included 2 rounds of drinks and a shared dessert.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Engineer_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sky Cafe also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Big Sky Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing