We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“WHAT TOOK ME SO LONG TO FIND THIS PLACE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sky Cafe

Big Sky Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Olivos, California, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WHAT TOOK ME SO LONG TO FIND THIS PLACE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

On my way up to the Bay area with my daughter, we decided to stop at Big Sky after learning our go-to place in Templeton was temporarily closed. We were so happy we did! Very attractive place, rustic and warm. Service was great. We were drooling over the buttermilk-ginger coffee cake that was served to us before we even ordered. It was sublime! Our eggs were perfect as was the thick-cut bacon. Can't wait to return!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shotz51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    230
    49
    25
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tahoe City, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great spot to stop off the highway and relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were traveling from San Francisco to Los Angeles down 101 and San Luis Obispo is our usually lunch spot--great town to get out and stretch and walk around, with a lot of great restaurants. This trip, we chose Big Sky Cafe and we were not disappointed. Sweet vibe and the menu was completely intriguing--hard to narrow down our choices. Hubby went with the Buttermilk Fried Chicken Salad--yeah, he was hooked at the thought of fried chicken and the salad part of it justified to him that this was health food. He wouldn't share he was so hooked on it. I had the Winter Vegetable Pot Pie with a Cheddar Cheese crust and it came with a side of kale salad. Wow! Usually a pot pie is a lot of caloric sauce with a few veggies floating in it--not this! Chock full of veggies and mushrooms that were fresh, al dente, not soggy or frozen, the crust was a delight and the kale salad was so yummy. This place is also open for breakfast and dinner and we will return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kymberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“3rd time here- 1st two times were great, third disappointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Food this last trip was so so and our service was terrible. It wasn't crowded and employees were standing around yet my latte took so long my meal was done by the time they got around to making it. Waiter was less than on top of it. Food was okay. Last 2 times we had great food and decent service. Maybe it was just the day...

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ctunnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
252 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Everytime you return the food is very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Everyone who has ever visited always returns to see if the food is still good. It is.
The special today was shrimp poo boy sandwich. Very good and filling.
Over the past 15 years or so, everything we have tried has been very good.
You can usually find parking a few blocks away on one of the side street. No big deal.
Enjoy your visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BoulderNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
262 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Everytime I come to the San Luis Obispo area I have to eat here, the food is that good. Recently I stayed in Morro Bay for a week, but I drove to San Luis twice to eat here. As with anything downtown, the parking is a challenge. Once you get here it's quite possible you may have to put your name on the wait list. But it's worth it. I am a vegetarian and they have a variety of wonderful options for me. I recently had a take off on a Vietnamese bunh mi. Excellent! My friend loves the Gumbo Ya Ya, ordered it twice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Skytrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sky Cafe also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Big Sky Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing