We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Sky Cafe is the Best”
Review of Big Sky Cafe

Big Sky Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
solana beach ca
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Big Sky Cafe is the Best”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

this is one of the best restaurants in the world. my wife and i have dined here repeatedly over the years as we pass through SLO on our way north or south from san diego and have never had anything that we didn't like. they also have a great selection of local wines by the glass and i usually end up buying a few bottles of a new wine at one of the local stores. the service is quick and friendly and extremely accommodating whenever we have made requests. i keep expecting our next trip there to be disappointing since no place is perfect but this is as close as it comes!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    250
    53
    26
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch in SLO”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Pros:
* Delicious meals (soft tacos with shrimp & chicken caesar salad). Portions were perfect (not too big/not too small). The food was great: admittedly, our selections weren't too exotic but our meals were well done and delicious.
* Outstanding friendly service. Waiter was very attentive and able to answers our questions about SLO
* Reasonable prices

Cons:
* We ordered two items from the children's menu that were pretty unappetizing (cheese pizza and turkey chili nachos)

Order a beignet for dessert! Yum!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xcountrytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the best meal of the trip”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

While attending a wedding in SLO I read the reviews and had only one free meal.. This was the place I picked and BOY was I glad- the reviews are true- interesting and innovative and fresh- the salad with goat cheese brulee was perfection and the catch of the day- stunning- dont miss this easy and comfortable spot

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ladybirdlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service. Fresh and affordable!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We came here last night for dinner. It was awesome. My husband got the pasta with lobster (he loved it) and I got the chicken caprese salad (delicious). They serve these adorable and yummy little corn breads for bread, which taste great and were so different than most restaurants. The ambiance was perfect for a date night. You could taste the freshness of the food and it was awesome to know that everything is local and that you're supporting local farmers. We loved this place! Eat here and you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smenezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place in SLO!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I've been here for breakfast and dinner. Innovative, delicious dishes. Highly recommend! Tonight I had the lobster Mac and cheese...yummy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RansomNote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sky Cafe also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Big Sky Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing