We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Italian cuisine”
Review of Buona Tavola

Buona Tavola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Santa Rosa St.
morro bay
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Italian cuisine”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Wonderful service staff,well versed in menu and wine selections, also able to speak to the chef personally. Extensive wine and menu , excellent service, make sure to sit on patio with space heaters provided

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bev a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    63
    20
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Try the Minestrone!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Had the Minestrone soup, Insalata Bufala, and the Chicken with Rosemary. The Soup and Salad were FANTASTIC. The Chicken was too fatty to finish, we had to wave down a server since ours never followed up with us. Luckily it was taken off the final check, but by that time I was not interested in waiting for another entree.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hellorenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, CA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very solid Italian restaurant in SLO. Service was great, atmosphere very charming. Salads and pasta were delicious- the ravioli and tortelloni are made in house, which is an attention to detail you don't always see in restaurants. We were with a big group who ordered everything from ravioli to roast chicken. Everyone loved their meals and our waiter was awesome, especially for a large group which can be hard to manage. Thumbs up!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllAboutAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a good meal but the lack of service spoiled our evening. We walked in with another couple who had salad before we had menus. We did not have bread for 15 minutes even though others arriving later were taken care of. It is such a shame to pay those prices and be ignored. I guess we were invisible to our waitress because she sure ignored us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Italian at it's Finest!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just visited Cal Poly SLO over the weekend as my son just accepted his offer to attend in the Fall and I am excited we found this gem! After reading the reviews, we decided to give it a try. We were right on time for our reservation and seated immediately. We sat on the heated patio and our waitress was just fantastic. Very helpful in telling us what were her favorite items on the menu and the service was top notch. Being from the Los Angeles area I frequent great restaurants regularly and the food here was second to none. Had a great risotto dish - cooked perfectly. All four of us had something different and everyone loved it. Glad to have found Buona Tavola as I will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luckydog12563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buona Tavola also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Buona Tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing