We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Avila Beach gem”
Review of Avila Valley Barn

Avila Valley Barn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An Avila Beach gem”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stopped here for a couple hours while visiting Avila Beach for the day. This place had a constant flow of visitors from the minute I arrived to the minute I left. There is a market with fresh fruit and vegetables, as well as all sorts of pies and other fresh backed goods. Petting zoo for the kids. My favorite was the Ice Cream and candy shop. The cookie icecream sandwich was delicious. Be sure to try the Chocolate orange sweet cream icecream. It tastes like one of those chocolate Christmas oranges, but better!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank qak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    76
    15
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central California, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Favorite”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Avila Barn is a must-see for all of our out-of-town visitors,especially those with children. The market always has a good selection of locally raised fruits and veggies, and the home-made baked goods are beyond compare. It's very crowded on weekends and holidays, but there's adequate parking.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bb8996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“5 senses abound”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

It's a great place for families to explore, lots of seasonal fruits & veggies, plus the kid will love petting and feeding all the animals. Great place to pick up one of a kind gifts for yourself or others.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank alldaytravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great fruit and pies.”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Great place to take the kids. Feed the goats, pick up some fresh fruits and veggies. Also, cool Christmas items on sale starting today.

Helpful?
Thank Notmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop at”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stopped here on our way home from shopping. It was a weekday but still was pretty crowded. The ice cream was pretty good. They had an area of animals penned up-cages were absolutely filthy as were the animals! Yes, I do realize that the typical farm animals-ie, pigs, goats, etc. get dirty-but there's nothing wrong with giving them a bath now and then, is there? Not once were we approached by any employee offering us help or finding out if we needed anything.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank binksmom92382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avila Valley Barn also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Avila Valley Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing