We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little garden with interesting plant life.”

San Luis Obispo Botanical Garden
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn about plants and ecosystems of five Mediterranean climate zones, from California and Chile to Australia and South Africa.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice little garden with interesting plant life.”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is a charming garden. Not too big, so it's easy to walk around the entire garden. Lots of places to sit and enjoy the surroundings and wonderful plant life and trees. Birds and squirrels abound. A nice way to relax!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KatDesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie H, Other at San Luis Obispo Botanical Garden, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Glad to know you enjoyed visiting our garden back in February, Kat, and that you found it to be really relaxing. We're always adding onto the garden, so we hope you'll give us another visit soon.

Until then,
San Luis Obispo Botanical Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    27
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lochcarron, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Gardeners shouldn't miss this ...”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is about six miles of town and well worth a visit if you are a gardener in particular. The garden is a research place that is only one depicting Mediterranean type climate gardens / plants from around the world. Each country is shown separately, all the plants are identified and there's even growing instructions for many of them.

Study the large map (see photo) when you enter, because this is a work in progress and in the early stages too. You are at the far left edge and it's only the small dark green bit that exists. Of the intended 150 acres there's only 2 acres open at present, but despite that there's plenty for those interested in gardens. It's also got interesting plots such as one where you can pull a leaf off, rub it between fingers, then identify the smell.

It could be better signposted inside and the leaflet could be a bit more helpful, because we were a bit confused looking for parts that didn't yet exist. There's an interesting tree 'round house' for kids, said to be of English origin (see photo), but I've never seen one in the UK ! However as I have the right trees growing wild here I will make one myself.

There are some other exhibits such as solar power and water power with which you can interact and may be of interest to youngsters.

There is a small shop which has plants and a few gardening items for sale, with staff that can help you with enquiries. We were these late October so little in bloom, but well worth the visit as there still plenty to see. I will certainly try to return sometime in the future at a different season, and perhaps when more has been developed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Fuartholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, PA
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Almost missed this gem...”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

because I thought there couldn't be much to see--WRONG. This is currently a 2-acre property with big plans already in the making to expand to 150 acres. What is already in place are native California plants and trees as well as flora from the Mediterranean and Australian climates. Go early in the morning as it is hot and dry but you will be rewarded for your effort.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JaniceBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mediterranean and California garden”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This little gem in San Luis Obispo is a delight for gardeners, photographers, kids...anyone who would like a nice relaxing stroll around California and Mediterranean plants. The garden features plants from the 5 Mediterranean regions around the world, focusing on water-wise plants for our dry climate. It is great to see what plants look like growing in a garden (all are labeled) and the gift shop sells some of the plants that are propagated on site by volunteers. The gift shop is small but has a nice selection of gardening and wildflower books, t shirts with the colorful poppy logo, note cards etc. There is a building that holds events such as educational programs, art exhibits, music events (also able to be rented for weddings, business events etc). And there is also a children's garden with a worm bin, veggies and herbs. There are monthly programs for kids in all sorts of topics- making terrariums, making soap, cooking etc. The garden is small but very enjoyable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank janny45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Glad we took the time to go here. We were camping in El Chorro which is part of the regional park since we were so close we stopped and looked around. Can't beat the price -free! It was small but I liked to look and learn about the different plant life.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hlpuread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Luis Obispo Botanical Garden also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to San Luis Obispo Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing