We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the highway and warm showers!”

El Chorro Regional Park
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located right outside downtown San Luis Obispo, this park features the Dairy Creek Golf Course and a variety of outdoor attractions and facilities including barbecue areas, softball fields, botanical gardens and various hiking trails.
Haines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Off the highway and warm showers!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were very happy to find this place to camp as we were ready to take advantage of the gorgeous weather of December 2013. There was a little highway noise, but the sites were nice and the showers were a very welcome amenity.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southern Cal
Level Contributor
168 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Camp hosts make the Park!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Traveling by motorcycle from southern cal to Canada a park to camp was suggested by a friend in the Morro Bay/ San Luis Obispo area. Arriving on the Friday of the Memorial Day weekend I had little hope of getting a spot. Greeted by a smiling gentleman at the rangers shack and a cheerful," how are you?" I replied," it really depends on your answer to my next question" with a chuckle the ranger exclaimed," it is your lucky day!, I have some spots open and you're welcome to go select one".
This clean, rambling property is located on a hill across from the college in between San Luis Obispo and Morro bay. Established trees and shrubs allow for privacy with a botanical garden on one side and a golf course on the other this rare jewel of a campground has full hook ups to tent sites. Showers and restroom facilities are immaculate .
The most impressive part of my stay was the gracious nature of camp hosts Keith and Diane. They made me feel that I had come to stay at a place where I was welcome and revered. I had the opportunity to visit with them and several campers came by to say a kind word, get some firewood and even bring sizzling bar b qued ribs over to share with them. They knew many people by name and are such quality people. Having camped up and down the west coast over the years, I have never seen camp hosts so genuinely interested in helping others enjoy themselves. While the campground is a gem, they are the crowning Jewell's of this properties charm.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank cap10paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, FLorida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A wonderful place”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is really a wonderful place to visit. We arrived hoping this would be
measure up to previous reviews. El Chorro Regional Park surpassed
expectations. When I reserved a site, the park employee said she
would reserve R12 for us, thinking we'd like it. She was right...the
site was perfect, quiet, with beautiful views. The site was large and
easy to manage pull through.

There's much to do here, once you take 100 photos
of the beautiful landscape. There is an 18 hole golf course in short
walking distance with your clubs, a nice club house and restaurant,
botanical gardens,gift shop, walking trails, and wonderful covered
gazebo as an AIDs monument. The park host was friendly and helpful. There is no
laundry facility, but there are showers. If you arrive during the week,
there may not be someone to check you in...easy though. Just drive
to your reserved site and you'll see they have reserved it in your name.
Easy drive to Morro Bay, Cambria and downtown San Luis Obispo.
A must for families with pets as well. Would we return? Yes, even
though we live 3,000 miles east...this could be a destination in the
future. Enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingforfun38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Closed to both Metro and Beaches arears.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Summer is rather over price for
Tent and RV full hook up Site.
Overflow $21, tent $25, hooked up$38. A little bit of paved on hooked up but unkept. Mostly
full of dirt, gravel and dust. San Luis Obispo County ripped base on closed to golf course, We were in 23 Ft. brand new RV for
4 nights.We noticed that there are 2Toilet and 2Shower rooms each for men and women for the entire site seem in adequate during week end where they were 4-5 tents of 2to4occupants in each tent.County Gov itself ignored Health and Sanitation Rules. Picnic tables, electrical
outlets were full of bird drops and spider webs, dusts and dirts.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Hiwaynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Thumbs Up!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

After reading several reviews for RV camping in the area we decided on El Chorro. We are so glad we did! Not crowded and plenty of room between sites. Close to everything we wanted to do within a 12 mile radius. We will be back for sure and this time longer! Love SLO!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hlpuread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chorro Regional Park also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to El Chorro Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing