We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit”

San Luis Obispo Children's Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Preschool through elementary-age children learn about health, history, safety, science, nature and the arts through a series of innovate hands-on activities and exhibits.
San Carlos, California
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We went back to the San Luis Obispo Children's Museum again this year. We have been here a number of times and even though my kids are older including a tween they all love it. There is something for everyone and it has become an annual pilgrimage of sorts. It is not a big museum, but it has plenty of activities to appeal to multiple ages of children. There are some science focused exhibits, a pretend doctors office and small outdoor play area to name a few of the activities. It is well worth a visit the next time you are in SLO.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    27
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the better small children's museums”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

They have exhibits and games for kids from 2 to 12 and are always relaxed about how long you stay. Coming and returning on the same day is something we have often done, especially when out grandchildren were young. There is both indoor and outdoor space.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KCV999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stuck With The Kids? This is a great place.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Don't know what to do with the kids? Although its a little pricey if you don't have a membership, this is a great place to take little ones in the 4-6 year old range, especially if they are visiting from out of town and everything will seem new. Some of the exhibits when I visited were looking a little worse for wear. Hopefully there has been a chance for refurbishment, next time I (have to) visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NicoletteMunoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very cool experience!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went on a special day where all the characters from Shrek the musical were there. The kids had a blast. There were musical performances, interactive games and crafts, and all the other fun things that are there on an everyday basis. There wasn't a dull moment. There was also a very cute dress up section that was great for fun pictures and the kids enjoyed playing on the stage in their costumes. This is a great place :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cat2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent for kids”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I teach preschool and this was a wonderful field trip for my students. Lots to explore, touch, climb and do here. Easy access for parking and small admission fee. Ages 2-11 would enjoy this.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vida67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Luis Obispo Children's Museum also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to San Luis Obispo Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing