We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family road trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014

An excellent hotel we used on our road trip down California 1. Welcoming receptionist, very comfortable rooms and well priced. The fitness room was a bonus.
Road noise during night prevented an excellent score

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear guest, we are so glad your trip was a success. We realize there are many choices of hotels out there and we appreciate that you had chosen the Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo. Ca.
We look forward in seeing you the next time you are in the San Luis Obispo area.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 621 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

I recently returned from a business trip to San Luis Obispo where I stayed 6 nights at the Hampton Inn & Suites. The hotel was conveniently located off the highway, was close to downtown as well as the airport (in a vehicle).

I stayed in room 426, which was a spacious king suite on the top floor. The room was clean and the bed was quite comfortable.

The breakfast was your typical complimentary breakfast with cold cereal, yogurt, cold boiled eggs, fresh fruit, hot oatmeal, scrambled eggs, omelettes and a waffle maker. There was also the option of a "to go" breakfast bag containing a bottle of water, an apple, a granola bar and a muffin, which I liked.

The staff were friendly and most evenings after our meetings there were fresh baked cookies in the lobby (which were very tasty)!

My only complaint was with regards to receiving incoming calls to the room. 3 of the 6 nights I was there, I was not able to receive calls to my room. I'm not sure if the front counter staff were on break or were busy, however I think it would be important for a hotel chain to keep their guests in touch with family members trying to reach them.

Overall, I would stay at this hotel again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanna_0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear loyal guest, thank you for your great comments about your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo, CA. I do want to applogize also about the missed phone calls during your stay. We have a strong commitment to our customers and take pride in doing our utmost best for every person we encounter.

The staff and I want to thank you again for staying with the Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo. We hope you will return to see us soon. We appreciate your business.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

While we love staying at Hampton's for the fresh waffles and breakfast, the price for this location (outside of SLO) was high. We found out later the embassy suites located less than a mile away was less than $20 more and you get a suite there. I'm sure your wondering why we stayed there for this price, its because there was a big car show in town and the pismo beach hotels were $100 more. as mentioned, we like hampton's BECAUSE of the value you get.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Todd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear guest, that you for your response about your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo Ca. We are certainly glad you choice us at your hotel of choice. We are very competitive on our rate with all of our sister properties. Rates are price sensiive during high demand occupancy. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward in serving you in the future.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I travel a lot for work and I have never experienced a sense of lack of safety before. On the day we are to check out someone from housekeeping tries to open our door at 8:45am. No knock, nothing. Good thing I had the door bracket on which prevented the door from fully opening. I rush to the door and peek out and see some lady rushing down the hall. I have kids the room, this is not good. I call and speak to the general manager and he tells me it must be housekeeping. But I get NO follow up from him. Nothing....as a Hilton gold member and Hilton grand vacation owner, I at least expect a call back explaining what happened. I have to assume that the safety of their guests at this establishment is not a priority.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gkumamoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear guest,
I would like to let you know the reason I did not contact you right away is because you had said your family was sleeping and I did not want to awake you once again. I was hoping to reach out to you when you checked out to let you know that I had comped your room for you for your inconvenience.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel was booked solid for the entire weekend, yet you never felt that there was anyone staying there. Staff handled the guests very well. Breakfast was well stocked. The best part was across the street in the pasture horses were grazing with their colts-What a View!!! Even though the hotel is close to HWY 101, you never heard any freeway noise. Sound proofing. Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your great comments about your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo, CA. We are so happy that your stay with us was a success. Thank you again for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The Hampton in San Luis Obispo is an excellent hotel for a visit to the area. It is extremely clean & well-maintained. The rooms are very comfortable, the Wifi works very well, and the free breakfast is excellent. Combined with the friendly staff, it is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear guest, that you for your great comments about your last stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo,CA. We are so glad your stay was a success. We know you have many choices when choosing a hotel and thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites.
We look forward in serving you the next time you are in the San Luis Obispo area.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were in town to tour CalPoly. This hotel was a short drive from the campus. The staff was very friendly, helped in picking good restaurants, and the rooms were very clean. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank vptwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for great comments during your last stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo. We are so glad you had a great stay with us. We love to hear comments from our guest so that we can continue to improve.
We look forward to see again the next time you are in the San Luis Obispo Area.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.4 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
727 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
874 reviews
3.6 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
625 reviews
3.7 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo

Address: 1530 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $148 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo hotel, located off scenic Hwy. 101 and Los Osos Valley Road. Situated in the heart of central California, this Hampton Inn hotel is close to cultural and recreational attractions. Enjoy fishing, hiking, surfing or kayaking at Avila Beach. Take the children to the San Luis Obispo Children's Museum or the SLO Museum of Art. Find hunting, jogging and horseback riding only minutes away from our hotel. Traveling on business? This California Hampton Inn is only a few minutes away from AT&T, California Polytechnic State University and French Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing