We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Comfortable room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We wanted a quiet room, so asked for something on the top floor. We were told nothing was available. So I asked that we not be put in a room with a child above us. We were told there wasn't a child in the room above us. And two hours later we could hear a kid jumping off the bed in the room above us! Okay, so that eventually stopped and all was well. The hotel itself was comfortable, consistent with all Hampton Inns, but the bed was a bit firm for us. Other than that, it was a pretty good experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing away from the freeway, toward the back of the property. It's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalGirlSouthBay_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    210
    52
    24
    13
See reviews for
250
140
23
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Although we had the bad luck to be there when they were draining the pool, it looked as if it would have been nice. The gym was nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were fresh and clean. The breakfast was good. Our only criticism was that the front desk seemed a bit over-bureaucratic on giving us an answer about late checkout.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Irmhild H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Hampton Inn in San Luis Obispo is my new "go-to" hotel. We've stayed in many hotels while visiting our college student, and aside from beach front at Avila, this is our new favorite. Rooms are spacious and clean, and the bed is very comfortable. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Second time staying and just as pleased.

Room Tip: Request a room in the south west corner to minimize road noise (which is hardly noticeable) and decr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSM, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

very good quality hampton inn in SLO; sometimes pricey during university event weekends ... have taken both personal and business trips there. also good place for athletic team travel when visiting Cal Poly; convenint to restaurants, shopping, downtown SLO and university

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Like many of the Hampton Inn & Suites locations this is a good hotel. Rooms are a good size and clean. Beds are comfortable and service is friendly. Breakfast Buffet was more than adequate. I personally like the fresh fruit, make-it-yourself waffles and the yoghurts.

SLO is a great little town with many nice shops and restaurant and easy-going atmosphere. The hotel is located outside downtown but not too far away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerhardvN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

its an ok hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. It´s clean, the complementary breakfast is enough to get you going. We had a problem with the air conditioning in the room, and although the problem was addressed right away, it did not get fixed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Marianela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
167 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

clean bed clothes for each new guest is a great feature of the Hilton chain and this hotel was no exception. We experienced a noisy bathroom fan and an inoperable TV however both problems were taken care of rapidly.

Location is convienient and quiet

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knukenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.4 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
3.7 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Address: 1530 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo hotel, located off scenic Hwy. 101 and Los Osos Valley Road. Situated in the heart of central California, this Hampton Inn hotel is close to cultural and recreational attractions. Enjoy fishing, hiking, surfing or kayaking at Avila Beach. Take the children to the San Luis Obispo Children's Museum or the SLO Museum of Art. Find hunting, jogging and horseback riding only minutes away from our hotel. Traveling on business? This California Hampton Inn is only a few minutes away from AT&T, California Polytechnic State University and French Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing