We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New, very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New, very comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a relatively new hotel, so everything was clean and tidy. Our room was very comfortable and we had a good sleep and breakfast in the morning. It is a few miles away from the town center, but with a car, there is easy access to the main road into town.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbara563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    210
    52
    24
    13
See reviews for
250
140
23
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hidden Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

(1) We had been advised to get a room on the back side of the hotel away from the freeway due to noise concerns. After expressing our concerns, we were given a room over the entry to the hotel which was directly across from the freeway on-ramp. The traffic noise didn't get better until after 11:00 p.m. and then it started up again before 6:00 a.m.
(2) We didn't appreciate the dirty sock (not ours) behind the trash can between the chair and the television.
(3) The refrigerator had an annoying humming sound that cycled on and off the entire night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the noise issue encountered during your stay. Our guests’ comfort and safety is my number one concern. Your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. The cleanliness issues you mentioned have been addressed with our housekeeping team and we will do our best to ensure every room meets the highest standards prior to guest arrival. I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our property again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good hotel if doing business with Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo. The rates were reasonable and the service was decent. Our company will stay again next time we are in the area. I give the hotel a B- overall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is such a great hotel, with a very convenient location. The lobby was clean and attractive, breakfast was great. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff was warm and welcoming. I will definitely stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank 679breannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Easy to find, and jump on and off the 101 from the hotel location. Super clean, comfortable, and easy to park and check in. It is in it's own little island of hotels, not really within walking distance to any retail/food, but if you have a car it isn't a problem. FREE WIFI! Madonna Inn is about two exits away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellorenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Have recently switched he'd from holiday inn and holiday inn express and have found that Hilton and Hampton provide a slightly better experience though in fairness you do pay a little more.

This was my first experience of Hampton and I like it. In particular the breakfast offering is some way ahead of the artery congealing offer at Holiday Inn Express.

The room was sufficient for. Family of 4 for 1 or 2 nights but I would not wish to spend longer.

The reception staff were polite efficient and welcoming but the lady at breakfast was clearly not having a great day. Still it did not mar the experience.

It is conveniently located and there are ample places to eat around the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Binman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

It was a nice experience until the guest next door stated to snore. The walls between the rooms have no or very poor sound insulation. It was like the snorer was laying next to me. I called the reception desk and asked for their help. They said since the hotel was full there was nothing they could do. Not even ear plugs to offer. So my wife and I spent almost $200 for a night of NO sleep. I can't believe that a brand new hotel cold be designed and approved with such poor sound insulation. The solution would be to inject insulation in the walls between the rooms.

The breakfast was just OK and seating was limited.
The cookies at the reception ...”MARVELOUS”

The indoor pool and Jacuzzi were quite nice, protected from the wind.

The gym had minimal equipment. But that is the way most hotels are.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonK846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.4 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
3.7 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Address: 1530 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo hotel, located off scenic Hwy. 101 and Los Osos Valley Road. Situated in the heart of central California, this Hampton Inn hotel is close to cultural and recreational attractions. Enjoy fishing, hiking, surfing or kayaking at Avila Beach. Take the children to the San Luis Obispo Children's Museum or the SLO Museum of Art. Find hunting, jogging and horseback riding only minutes away from our hotel. Traveling on business? This California Hampton Inn is only a few minutes away from AT&T, California Polytechnic State University and French Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing