We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late arrival” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Late arrival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Last minute room, room was clean and Comfortable, staff was courteous, breakfast could
have been more bountiful with that said great value other hotel
Was overbooked and Hampton Inn came to the rescue

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    187
    43
    22
    11
See reviews for
217
121
23
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a new hotel. It is well constructed, with a decent parking lot, attractive lobby and breakfast area, and good facilities. Our room had a microwave, fridge, and multiple convenient electrical outlets that are connected. Tabletops are of granite, and doors are heavy and well insulated. There is a convenient and reasonable priced laundry facility on our floor. The pool and hot tub are clean.
Everything works, except the toilet paper dispenser, which does not accept large rolls of tp, and needs to be repositioned. There is no safe.
The breakfast sets a standard to which hotels should aspire -- 0% yoghurt, hot oatmeal with fruit and raisins, prepared omelette with sausage patties, and delicious fruit, including bananas and apples.
The small convenience pantry is well stocked, including frozen and nutritious lean cuisine meals and frozen ice cream, should quick access to food be required.
The staff have a smile, are positive, and they are accommodating.
For a hotel of this standard, I could not have asked for more, and can only recommend it highly. I would happily return, if I am visiting here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kidssleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outside Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a new property in SLO and we stayed for two nights in February. We received a room at the end of the hall on the third floor, I think #332 and the room was quite large and very clean. Our daughter was with us and she slept on the pull out sofabed, which was perfect for her. The room had a wet bar and a fridge and the bathroom was also very nice and clean.

A couple of things I think could be better. As another reviewer stated, our bathroom door would not stay open. It constantly closed so we put a shoe in front of it to keep it open; also it creaked so everytime we opened the door (and then it would shut itself) the door made a long slow creak. I love the idea of the clean duvet/beds. The back of the duvet cover was a slick material that constantly slid down to the floor. Definitely a clean duvet, but not so warm when it's on the floor! :) Last, the mattress was not really good. I woke up stiff and sore; perhaps it was because the previous four nights we'd been in a luxury hotel, but the Hampton Inn mattress was just not supportive enough for me. Others below have not minded it so it may be me.

The breakfast downstairs was nice and the table for groups was a neat touch. The front desk staff is attentive and kind.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrensaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a nice Hampton Inn. The room was clean and very comfortable, except for the fact that the a/c unit blew cold air constantly no matter how we tried to adjust the thermostat. It was winter and cold at night so we did not want cold air blowing in the room. Luckily the very comfortable beds are perfectly warm so once in bed we didn't notice the room temp. My other complaint is that the parking lot is very small. We arrived at 7pm (on a Sunday) and were able to park. However, after we went out and returned at 10pm, there was not ONE space available. There is another lot behind the hotel, accessed by driving around the block. But, it was not clear at all that this lot belonged to the property, and it was dark and deserted. I did not feel safe parking my car in a dark deserted lot behind the hotel at night. So I went back to the front and went in to the front desk to ask where guests are supposed to park when their lot is full. The young lady at the front desk was very flustered and vague and stated only that she had just had to move her car for a guest... which means that this tiny parking lot is not just for guests but is for the staff as well?? This makes no sense to me at all. Luckily as I was standing there some people were leaving so I was able to take their spot. Those are my only complaints. The fitness center was very nice, with good quality modern equipment. The breakfast was well stocked and excellent and the large breakfast room was very pleasant. The room was comfortable, other than the cold air. Overall I thought this was a nice hotel. They just need a bigger parking lot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxjosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

When our trip changed and we had the opportunity to stay in SLO, our 'usual' hotel was sold out. I found Hampton Inn & Suites and did a "book and pay now" deal. I was a bit apprehensive but from the minute we walked in, we were hooked.

We were warmly greeted by the desk clerk and everything about our stay was explained thoroughly.

This chain prides themselves on clean bedspreads and I felt at home on the bed. Really comfortable and clean.

Our self-serve complimentary breakfast was the best I've had. Everything was fresh and well balanced. This is now our "usual" hotel for all trips. Wow.

Room Tip: I requested to be away from all known sounds (elevators, ice machines, stairwells). They honored my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a new hotel. The management is excellent. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast excellent. There is some noise from the freeway, so request a room on the side away from the
traffic. My only complaint was that the business center is extremely hot. The heat is way too high.
Otherwise, the hotel was excellent and definitely the best option for SLO. I have stayed at other hotels in the same price range that were unacceptable. I stayed 3 nights at this hotel and was extremely happy with the entire situation. Be aware that weekend rates are much higher than week day rates.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank losborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very nice property and a great addition to the area. Friendly staff at check in. Rooms comfortable, ours a bit small. Loved that the duvet covers are also cleaned for each guest arrival. After a long drive, to plop on the bed was wonderful. Only problem we had was the bathroom door would not stay open which in a narrow room made it tricky to get ready for events as we came an went. Lots a parking and well lit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HavingFunTraveling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.6 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 967 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Suites Central Coast
Quality Suites Central Coast
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
3.7 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
#12 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Address: 1530 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo hotel, located off scenic Hwy. 101 and Los Osos Valley Road. Situated in the heart of central California, this Hampton Inn hotel is close to cultural and recreational attractions. Enjoy fishing, hiking, surfing or kayaking at Avila Beach. Take the children to the San Luis Obispo Children's Museum or the SLO Museum of Art. Find hunting, jogging and horseback riding only minutes away from our hotel. Traveling on business? This California Hampton Inn is only a few minutes away from AT&T, California Polytechnic State University and French Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing