We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Stay at the Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

While involved in business in the San Luis Obispo area I recently was a guest of this motel for several weeks. It is located at the South end of town - off of Los Osos Rd. The facility is a 4 story 84 unit motel. Finding the entrance to the parking lot is a bit tricky, especially at night and could be getter signed. The motel is located on a odd shaped lot and the views are not inspiring or interesting. This is a "straight forward" motel - what you see is what you get. You do get free parking, a nice breakfast and cookies at night; a free newspaper; and free internet connections. Do expect some traffic noise from the nearby freeway. This is not a destination resort. It is a excellent value however and the rooms are very nice and relatively new. The rooms contain a workdesk, moderate sized flat screen TV, a couch, a wetbar, small refrig and microwave. The staff is very very nice and will always give you a smile. This was an excellent value for the money and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlin35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 621 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here as part of an extended-family road trip and for our foursome it was our first time staying in SLO proper. LOVED this property - well-constructed with no noise issues (TownPlace Suites, I'm looking at you), and a large flat-panel TV with ACTUAL HD PROGRAMMING! Yes I am shouting - in this price range, too many hotels we've stayed in have an HD television but only standard-def programming. This goes toward the concept that yes we may spend most of the day out of the room, but when in for the night we like to kick back with a beverage, snacks, TV and wi-fi, and Hampton gets that. (If you have an Ethernet cable, bring it and plug it into the desk/lamp connection.)

Would love to visit again, but they're booked next weekend!

To the earlier comments about crowded breakfast areas: yes. We are early birds and foodies and were able to have coffee and a family meeting at 6 AM in the breakfast area, and later two of us walked down the street to the New Frontiers market which opened at 8 AM. Our intention was to return to the hotel and have more coffee and taste some of our purchases, but the breakfast area was crowded by then. Margie's Diner up Calle Joaquin has had great fresh food in the past, but we didn't get there this time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dactyllic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We went for 3 nights to visit family for Thanksgiving. All in all the hotel is reasonably priced and clean. The down side is the complimentary breakfast....the dining area is small, and no matter what time we arrived...crowded.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back, as over the parking lot one hears noise from 101 freeway
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

A new hotel right by the freeway, but still quiet inside. Rooms are nice and we got a handicap room. A good feature that you'd only notice if you were in a wheelchair (as I am) is that the tile entryway runs into the bathroom with no 'bump' of a threshold. Walking people don't care, but it's a nice feature for us disabled folks. Breakfast was pretty good too. For what it is (chain hotel) it's a superb example. Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BruceW609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

On a girls trip on the coast we decided to stop for the night in San Luis Obispo. Not sure where the best place to stay was we read reviews and decided to stay here since it was right off Hwy 101, seemed to be in a safe area, and pricing was reasonable. Glad we did! Restaurants are just down the street and access to the Hwy is easy. Room was clean, quiet, beds were comfortable and breakfast had plenty of variety (waffles, pastries, oatmeal, eggs..etc.) I plan on driving the coast again with my husband and would definitely stay here a second time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lh863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your "girls weekend" in San Luis Obispo. I will certainly pass on your kind remarks to my staff. We look forward to your next visit with your husband.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were there for the wedding of a granddaughter. The rooms were very nice, super clean and they treated us well. We used a conference room for a family get-together meeting place and had a great time with our family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is more like a 3 and 1/2. When I was choosing a place for us to stay on the way back from a weekend camp, I was looking for a good bed, and a decent breakfast. We appreciated the room, the good customer service, but I was expecting a better breakfast than the one we ended up with. I'm giving it 4 stars for the quality of the room for the type of hotel, but the reason it isn't a 5 is because the breakfast was not what I had hoped it would be. They served these dry anemic mini omelets, which has been sitting in the container for awhile. We had breakfast at about 8:30, so I was hoping it was early enough. I have had much better breakfasts at a residence Inn for $99 per night. This stay cost more and did not fill our breakfast needs all that well. However, we did get a decent night's sleep, something we needed very badly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway as we did. Very glad they could accommodate us.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Didi149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.4 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
728 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
877 reviews
3.6 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
626 reviews
3.7 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo

Address: 1530 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $148 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo hotel, located off scenic Hwy. 101 and Los Osos Valley Road. Situated in the heart of central California, this Hampton Inn hotel is close to cultural and recreational attractions. Enjoy fishing, hiking, surfing or kayaking at Avila Beach. Take the children to the San Luis Obispo Children's Museum or the SLO Museum of Art. Find hunting, jogging and horseback riding only minutes away from our hotel. Traveling on business? This California Hampton Inn is only a few minutes away from AT&T, California Polytechnic State University and French Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing