We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great atmosphere and friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HI San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HI San Luis Obispo
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great atmosphere and friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

I booked this hostel because I needed a nights stop over in San Luis Obispo and it was the cheapest available. I have been traveling for over a month and stayed at many hostels ranging from party hostels to stricter ones. I read all the reviews on this one and was prepare for rude staff. When I arrived, at the same time as about 5 other groups, I expected to be waiting for some time, but the girl on the desk dealt with everyone very quickly and got everyone talking with each other, which is great for the solo traveler! In fact, this girl, Laura, was the most helpful, enthusiastic receptionist I have come across so far. She was really welcoming and was very informative.
As for the atmosphere in the hostel, the common room is essentially a living room, great for socializing and meeting people. I wasn't aware of strict rules or anything, me and a group of other people stayed talking in the common room past 2am. Everyone seemed happy there and very relaxed. Breakfast is also a great way to talk to people whilst making pancakes! I would have booked on for another night if I could have.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    27
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
5
11
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Hostel Obispo is a great find for a low price. The hostel has a wonderful atmosphere with friendly staff, and the facilities are clean. When they overbooked they bumped my group into a private room and lowered our fee for the inconvenience.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank croctad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

We booked a private room at this hostel for one night. The pros: location was good, close to the main strip in SLO. Full shared kitchen which was nice. For breakfast they have sourdough for you to make pancakes which was really nice and they were delicious! They also have organic coffee, all free of charge. The cons: We were told $45 a night over the phone, but when we arrived we were charged $55. The front desk later apologized for this and refunded us. The private room was TINY! It was a queen bed with a single bunk bed over it, which was quite uncomfortable. My fiance hit his head on the top bunk. Other than the bed, you couldn't really fit much else into the room. The bathrooms/showers were shared, they weren't the cleanest but they were ok. Stand up shower was really small!
So this hostel was just ok. But i guess for hostels, its not bad, i used to love staying in places like this, but i guess as i've gotten older i need a little more comfort.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plnjane11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

It's always a bummer when lodging managers treat you like dirt. It especially hurts when your on vacation, as I was--cruising down Highway 1, having the time of my life--only to have a witchy hostel manager close a road atlas I was reading from the common area in my face. When confroted, her response was "this is going home with me", clearly an act of passive agressive hostility. Stay here if you want your feelings hurt. Also, bring plenty of greenbacks, as the manager is reluctant to take plastic.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aksynth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Our stay here lasted around 3 hours, which was more than enough. Perfect for travellers who love rules, regimes and a rude welcome. After the beautiful trip on highway one, this brought us down to earth with a bang. On bringing beer into the hostel i was informed alcohol was only usually allowed on 'special occasions'. There seemed to be a big concern i was going to take the alcohol upstairs, goodness know what kind of mayhem could've ensued if that had happened. God help anyone that wants to enjoy their break. We found it to be an extremely hostile environment, and never felt at home there. Infact, we disliked the hostel so much, that rather than having to wake up there, and not doubt be subject to more rules ( and probably be told off at least once for doing something wrong ) we hot footed it to the nearest motel at around 10.30pm (even though we'd already paid for 2 nights)

Charming location and building, but really not a place for young people. Unless maybe boarding school is your thing... In summary: i'd rather punch myself in the face than stay here again.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank i_started_something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

I would recommend this hostel to anyone wanting to head to San Luis Obispo. It's in a great location, within walking distance of some great hiking trails and breathtaking scenery. The hostel itself is cute and charming; it feels like staying in someone's house. It was under construction while I was there, so I'm sure that it will be less cramped in the future.

Likes: location, price, cozy atmosphere, awesome sourdough pancakes!
Dislikes: a bit dingy, but not too bad. Also, the hostel staff was friendly but not especially helpful, and they often hung out together like a clique, making me feel like an outsider. If I talked to them they would respond and we had some good conversations, but they don't make any real efforts to make guests feel like part of the experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

The hostel in San Luis Obispo
is the best-designed* and
most progressively decorated inn
*indoors-outdoors-upstairs-downstairs

of the twenty I've seen in USCanada
and the seven in Switzerland & Amsterdam

Sigmond Twayne
Author-Host-Travelguide-Photographer

Helpful?
Thank SigmondTwayne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.9 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 645 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#4 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Granada Hotel and Bistro
Granada Hotel and Bistro
#1 of 9 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI San Luis Obispo

Property: HI San Luis Obispo
Address: 1617 Santa Rosa St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3721 (Formerly Hostel Obispo)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your HI San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing