We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Greyhound stop is miles away+felt like we were tip toeing round someones house!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HI San Luis Obispo

HI San Luis Obispo
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HI San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Greyhound stop is miles away+felt like we were tip toeing round someones house!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We read on website greyhound stop was 15 mins walk to hostel....great! Unfortunatly it took us 90 minutes to walk with our 12kl rucksacks!!!! And we are fast walkers!
When we eventually got there we explained our long walk and wrong info to the guy who checked us in and said 'o yes that happened a few months back we need to update it' he knocked off $14 from our room

Our room was small, we had a double bed, it was ok for us but if you like space and have big suitcases you won't fit in
Also you can't lock the door from the outside ( this was the room called Terrace)

The overall hostel was not that clean, the bathrooms could have done with a good clean plus the bin in the kitchen was overflowing for 2 days
We found this to be silly as the people in the hostel who work there actually live there, therefore if they use the kitchen everyday why can't they empty the bin.

In the 2 days we stayed there we noticed atleast 5 people who lived there full time, we didn't feel fully comfortable using the kitchen and common area as we felt we were in their kitchen and none of them were over friendly or said hi

The town was ok, we went to see the bubble gum wall but in general there wasn't loads to do here.


  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yearout2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    24
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
5
10
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Friendly, Cool and comfortable! These friendly staff members go out of there way to make you feel at home!!! Great location-try avala hot springs local pool for $10 a day or go to Pismo Beach or morro- short distances from here.Some of these best spots on the coast!!!

Room Tip: Womens Dorm Room Upstairs Rocks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smoking b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Stopping off at HI Obispo was a small miracle. Traveling alone, this hostel provided much needed socialization with friendly people doing interesting things with their life. It is clean, the bed comfortable and they offer free sourdough pancakes - the best pancakes ever! Everyone is very nice and welcoming. I even lucked out to stay during the music and potluck day! Great hostel all around! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

STAY HERE!!!!!!

For the last year and a half I have traveled all of the united states and stayed in every major hostelling organization in America. In general, the hostelling scene is an unknown gem in American travelling, which is a huge misfortune but...anyone who knows the hostel scene and tavels through these parts know that the Obispo Hostel is a gem in a gem.

Warm environment, clean living area, free parking, accomidating staff and free breakfast it is hard to believe such a place exists in the neighborhood. Like all hostels, it is located in the most prime part of town near everything.

There is nothing else to say than, stay here, be welcomed and continue your journey a better version of yourself.

Room Tip: plenty of power outlets, no worries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed here one night as I was passing through San Luis Obispo. The place is very clean, in a great location, with very friendly and helpful staff. In the evening, I hung out in the common space, reading and chatting with staff and other guests, and had a great time meeting some really nice people. I stayed in a dorm room and my bed was clean and very comfortable. Slept like a baby and woke up to some great coffee and pancakes! It was the exact experience I was looking for after a long day of motorcycle riding. I would definitely go back here and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I didnt ask for much, but they gave me everything. When I needed help, they were there for me like family. That's what you will find when you stay in this house of strangers, located in probably the happiest home in America. Don't be shy to contribute to the good vibes, and have some pancakes.

Room Tip: Take whatever is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I dont know why, but the house was super neat, clean and everybody was incredible friendly and helpful. the price was cheap and the rooms are really pretty. A helping hand, a room to stay and a second home you will find.

Thanks guys you made my stay my honour.

Room Tip: Morro Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asdfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.9 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites Central Coast
Quality Suites Central Coast
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#5 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#4 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI San Luis Obispo

Property: HI San Luis Obispo
Address: 1617 Santa Rosa St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3721 (Formerly Hostel Obispo)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your HI San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing