We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel right at home”
Review of HI San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HI San Luis Obispo
Reviewed February 9, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at Hostel Obispo and I suspect not the last. They are gracious hosts, complete with coffee and pancakes in the morning! Clean rooms and friendly travelers make this the perfect place for social vagabonds. It is located a short walk from the train station and downtown SLO. Not used to staying in a hostel? Step outside your routine and spend a few nights in this great communal environment. You can't go wrong!

Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 94 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2012

Staff is professional and helpful and are also really friendly and make you feel at home the minute you walk in! The place is great too. Its in a nice quiet neighbourhood next to the park and just minutes walk to downtown. There's a fireplace, full kitchen, dining and living rooms, even bikes and instruments to borrow. Not to mention they serve great coffee and sourdough pancakes in the morning! I think I'll stay a while!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stopped at this hostel as a way to break my trip from LA to San Francisco. I was not expecting much at first but was greeted very warmly by the staff. I got info on what was happening in town and ended up going to the Farmer's market (happens every Thursday evening) with some cool people I met at the hostel. After coming back we heard there was a bike night (happens every first Thursday of the month) and the staff at the hostel gave us bikes to use. It ended up being a great time and I'm glad I stopped in SLO and especially in this very cozy and homey hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiguelC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I love to stay at Hostel Obispo! the staff is always welcoming, friendly and helpful in every way. Located in a quiet residential neighbor it is easy and natural to feel at home sharing food and good chat around the family table. The hostel is an easy walk to the lively downtown where it is easy to find all kinds of live music, indie films and great food and drink. Clean and comfortable beds, large outdoor living space, organic free trade coffee, pancake breakfasts and a fireplace in the living room are some of the highlights that Hostel Obispo offers. And as Catherine R mentions- sun dried sheets- can't get any better than this!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Great place to slow down and share some time with a great diverse group of folks from all around the world. Good food, fun & Atmosphere......oh and sun dried sheets & towels,comfy!

Room Tip: Hollister next to the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I have stayed here a few times and it is always WONDERFUL. The helpful employees, fun guests and GREAT pancake breakfast always make me feel at home. I highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Located in an actual residential neighborhood, and yet within easy walking distance from downtown SLO, this hostel is a great place to stay. The staff is excellent: very friendly and with a wealth of knowledge about what's going on about town. The neighborhood is safe and quiet, and also within walking distance of the Amtrak station. They even have a dog, Chloe, who is a delightful and friendly pooch. There's a piano in the small parlor, and it's fun to sit around and listen to music and sing along with the staff and guests. There's a small laundry room for guests, too. It feels like home, here. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
739 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
906 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#18 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,458 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
644 reviews
1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI San Luis Obispo

Address: 1617 Santa Rosa St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3721 (Formerly Hostel Obispo)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $36 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your HI San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing