We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay In San Luis Obispo”
Review of Heritage Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heritage Inn B&B
California
1 review
“A Great Stay In San Luis Obispo”
Reviewed March 10, 2009

The Heritage Inn offered a very comfortable weekend stay, at a reasonable rate during our weekend visit to San Luis Obispo. The B&B is located close enough to walk to downtown businesses and restaurants. Morning breakfast consisted of a variety of fresh fruits, egg dishes and homemade muffins and breads. Lodging as charming as San Luis Obispo...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikephoto22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    17
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
59
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Just returned from a one night stay at the Heritage Inn B&B. Suzanne, the new owner, could not have been more welcoming or accommodating. We had a last-minute reservation so were not able to get a room with private bath, but there are 2 bathrooms available for only 3 or 4 rooms, so we didn't really have any competition in that department. I've stayed at many more expensive places and the Heritage Inn compares favorably. My only criticism would be the Inn's proximity to the freeway and the attendant noise, but earplugs would probably work just fine. The bed was comfortable, the fireplace in the room was very cozy. Having a tray of cookies available to us was a nice treat and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2009

Heritage Inn was taken over a couple of months ago by a young Scottish woman and her US Army husband, but from the sounds of the earlier reviews, they've really kept to the ethos of the previous owner! Complimentary local wine and fresh cookies in the evening, excellent breakfast in the morning (she sure is great at baking, and also served the best omelette I've ever had), and the owners were incredibly friendly & welcoming; helpful, and also a lot of fun.

The Inn is pretty and comfortable, looking over the garden sloping down to the creek behind the house and the mountains behind. It's about 10mins walk from central San Luis Obispo and a short drive to Avila and Pismo beaches. There are several chain motels on the same street, but I can't think why anyone would stay there in preference to the Heritage! It's tiptop.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigheadedroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

We have stayed in SLO many many times over the last 14 years. We come every year for New Years & make other trips as time allows. We have greatly enjoyed the numerous hotels & other B & B's that SLO has to offer. Recently we had a baby & most B & B's won't allow them. Thus we decided to stay here this time, mainly because they accept guests with babies (FYI - well behaved dogs are welcome too).

The Inn was recently purchased from the woman who owned it for 20 years. The new owner is from England and was absolutely a wonderful host! The breakfast each day was a selection of fresh fruit, fresh bakes goodies and a freshly prepared egg dish. The new owner really went out of her way to insure our comfort. There were no indoor cats & no cat smells at all. She is in the process of updating the interior. Our room was comfortable. We will definately be returning!

  • Liked — The new owner was incredible!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2007

Very cute place... the rooms are not particularly large, but the place more than makes up for that in charm and by the proprietor's warmth. Excellent breakfast, especially the huge number of freshly baked breads. Freshly baked cookies and complimentary wine in the evenings... all at a reasonable price for SLO... what more can you ask for? We would love to stay there again on our next trip there.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank rcs_trs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2006

We've stayed one night in the Heritage Inn and we arrived by plane from Los Angeles, the owner, Georgia, even picked us up from San Luis Obispo airport after desperatly waiting for a Taxi at the airport. We contacted the B&B and the proprietor immediatly said she'll pick us up. As we were the only ones that night, we booked the grandpa's room but upon arrival, we got to see all the rooms and could pick one of them, what a service. We ended up in Auntie's room. The common badroom was spotless and huge. I read one review about the cat odor, yes, true, but this didn't bother us at all as me and my girlfriend are animal lovers. The breakfast was awesome, nice egg omelette and home made pastries. We had a special time at this B&B and realized we should have stayed longer. We've stayed in numerous B&B's but this one is top charting.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank REBRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manteca, ca
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2006

This was a nice little house that felt alot like staying with a distant relative. The breakfast was fantastic. Homemade muffins, fresh fruit and a nice egg and brocolli casserole dish. Slight cat odor downstairs but the upstairs rooms were quite pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nianders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.9 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
613 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,381 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,601 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
384 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn B&B

Property: Heritage Inn B&B
Address: 978 Olive St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-2360
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Heritage Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Inn Bed And Breakfast
Heritage Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing