We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heritage Inn B&B
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Inn is near the freeway, so I was very pleasantly surprised to find how quiet our room was. The bed was very comfortable and we slept soundly.

The breakfast and snacks were top notch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highermath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    16
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
13
58
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I so enjoyed our 3 nights at the Heritage Inn recently, and Linda was the PERFECT hostess! She was so sweet about accommodating our vegan diet, and made us a couple of amazing dairy and meat free breakfasts! And there were always fresh home-baked vegan chocolate chip cookies waiting for us when we came in - seriously, the best I've ever had! Linda is really knowledgeable about the area and gave us all kinds of tips and info about the area. She is such a pleasure and really goes out of her way to make you feel at home and comfortable. Great smile, too! :) We stayed in Aunties room the first night, but the noise from the freeway entrance proved to be too much for us (light sleepers) and we didn't sleep well at all, so Linda graciously allowed us to move to a room on the other side of the Inn and we slept like babies the next two nights. I highly recommend this darling, historic place! Just a few blocks walk (good exercise!) to get to the heart of it all.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper, Auntie's Room may not be the one for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loulou438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed in the white lace and promises room. We had a nice private bathroom with a small balcony. There really wasn't much of a view, but this was a beautiful old house with an interesting history. The hostess was friendly and helpful with suggestions. The parlor has loads of information about SLO. It is also equipped with fresh baked brownies and cookies waiting for you. Wine and cheese in the late afternoon. Wonderful breakfast, self serve. It's nice to be able to choose your portions. There is everything you could want and more for breakfast. Convenient location in the city. Stay here if you want to be spoiled and be comfortable. This is a pet friendly place, although we didn't bring a pet. But, we enjoyed seeing other people's dogs. No dogs were allowed in the breakfast area. The house was very clean and I would go back again to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaSmokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

My father and I overnighted here in August 2010 while on a drive down the California coast, and Lisa and her perfect little inn made our journey. From the refreshments available on arrival and anytime (including lovely local wines), to the clean, beautifully-presented rooms, to the delicious, abundant, lovingly-prepared breakfast, we enjoyed every moment and every experience Lisa offered us.

A side note: Lisa has a great deal of experience in the hotel industry, and takes serious pride in the cleanliness and upkeep of her establishment. (This is probably the cleanest guest house I've ever stayed in, counting journeys on five continents.) She is also a delightful conversationalist, and kept us well entertained throughout our stay.

Thanks so much, Lisa! Keep up the outstanding work.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KimSolga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I needed a place to unwind after a long road trip and this was the place to do it. No tv, just a beautiful and comfortable room. I did not stay long, I got in late and left early. I was greeted by Lisa at 10pm and she had brownies, tea and wine available. This was such a relief after driving all day everyday for over a week and staying in motels. I had such a restful sleep because there were tons of blankets and pillows on the already comfy bed. The breakfast the next morning was just amazing. Everything we ate was better than the last bite. I have no dietary restrictions, but Lisa was so willing to accommodate us if we did. It was definitely the right place to say in SLO!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abnormal456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

This is our second time staying at Heritage Inn, which is conveniently located right off 101, halfway between the Bay Area and LA. Lisa, the Innkeeper, provides wonderful hospitality and a very warm welcome. She had fresh-baked cookies ready for us upon arrival, wine for those who drink, a cozy fireplace going, and offered a room upgrade at no additional charge.

She made an amazing breakfast of tomato, cheese and zucchini frittata, blueberry coffee cake, spice muffins, whole wheat cranberry banana bread, yogurt and fruit platter (see photo).

The house itself is very quiet. Its proximity to the highway and main roads means that it can get a bit noisy outside. The rooms are old and old-school but very clean and with a firm-enough mattress for our purpose of getting a good night's sleep. We like Grandpa's room (good value and fireplace) and stayed in Mountainview room on this trip (great view of the hills during the day and with small private bathroom).

Pet and kid-friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel-adventure-md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Selva Beach, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

For a little more than $100 a night the Heritage Inn is a bargain for anyone staying in the SLO area, especially for parents of students looking for budget-priced lodging that is close to campus. Although the property is adjacent to a Highway 101 on-ramp the traffic noise was minimal to non-existent even though our room's window faced the busy thoroughfare. The room was just big enough for the two of us and the large antique bed roomy as well as comfortable. For a little more you can opt for a room with a private bath, but we did not feel inconvenienced in the slightest in sharing the two second-floor bathrooms available for the two rooms without. Our room did have a sink and a fireplace. The host was warm, friendly and made us feel welcome. Breakfast was fresh daily and above average B&B fare. We noted that the cook was more than happy to adjust the menu upon request for veggies, vegans, lactose intolerant, allergies, etc. Pets are welcome, too. Both Jen and I felt quite comfortable and will definitely not hesitate to book again in the future.

Room Tip: While all appear similar in size and furnishings, the only major difference is whether you want a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorCalBeachGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.9 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites Central Coast
Quality Suites Central Coast
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#4 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn B&B

Property: Heritage Inn B&B
Address: 978 Olive St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-2360
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Heritage Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Inn Bed And Breakfast
Heritage Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing