We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Used gum on the walls”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bubblegum Alley

Bubblegum Alley
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Want a piece of ABC gum? Head to this fascinating, if somewhat unsanitary, walkway that features walls covered with gum of the "already been chewed" variety.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Used gum on the walls”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I am embarrassed to have this in SLO, especially when I see tourists photographing it! I want to tell them, "Look at the mountains! Look at the creek! Look at the Mission! "

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    188
    161
    53
    72
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The unusual bubblegum alley.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Started out years ago with students getting rid of chewing gum and it has grown to what it is today; a novelty place known all over the world. Go see it for yourself.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank roy50holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“stinky”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nothing special about an alley cluttered with chewed gum pressed against the walls. It is convenietly located in beautiful downtown San Luis Obispo but enter at your own risk.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What the heck...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Wow, this was the most gross and disgusting tourist attraction ever. But, yes, I walked through and took a picture anyway. I guess the history is interesting, but this was five minutes of my life that I won't get back!!! The rest of the town is cute and enjoyable. If you do go to see this, do it quickly and don't touch anything;)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vegaspatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Made sense decades ago but not now,,,”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Lived here for over 20 years and there are so many sights to see in town. This may have been a nifty catchy touristy thing to get people to stop decades ago but the town has grown into a much more artsy community. If you must, park your car in the lot and take the 3 second walk between the bulidings (Bubble Gum Alley) onto the main street and then enjoy SLO town,,,,,

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marco-Babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubblegum Alley also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Bubblegum Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing