We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting mix of greek and mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wild Donkey - CLOSED

The Wild Donkey
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting mix of greek and mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

My family and i had heard about this restaurant and decided to give it a try. The atmosphere is nice when you walk in the door and we were greeted by a warm and friendly staff. The menu has a decent selection of Greek and Mexican dishes, which we thought might be hard to do. We ordered a shrimp over rice dish and tacos and i thought they might task the same since they were cooked on the same surface so close together. I was wrong.

The food was great and they got the unique Greek flavors right. Great food reasonably priced.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flint5oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Favorite Spot in SLO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

I love this restaurant. Great food, great service, great ambiance! The Greek chicken lemon soup is off the charts! I love everything I've eaten here.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

We came across this restaurant by accident. My partner and I had a quick lunch, staff were good, food very fresh. Recommended

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank neilg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The staff was so rude we left”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

We went into a near-empty restaurant and when the server came over we had a few questions. She reacted as though we were bothering her and when a new patron entered she left mid-sentence and never came back. She waited on the new people and completely ignored us. After ten minutes, we left. My husband went back to speak to the owner and he really didn't care. We won't go back.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Tobie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We visited for a late lunch and there were only a couple of table of people in the restaurant.
The food was fresh and extremely tasty. My wife is not overly keen on Mexican food but the Greek/Mexican mix works well and she is now converted.
We were in San Luis Obispo for 4 days and this was the best meal we had. I would thoroughly reccomend it

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennyw42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wild Donkey also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing