We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giuseppe’s Cucina Rustica

Giuseppe’s Cucina Rustica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Monterey/ Morro
Description: Welcome to Palazzo Giuseppe’s, downtown San Luis Obispo! Our Italian regional specialties are indicative to the Pugliese region in Italy, particularly Bari, a seaport on the Adriatic Sea from which most of our recipes originate. We hope you will enjoy and appreciate our great loyalty to the distinctive dishes, all of which we prepare with genuine and natural ingredients and methods. Our bread is baked from scratch every day in a wood-burning oven imported from Italy. Each loaf is made by hand, allowed to rise four times and slow-cooked to achieve the truly rustic appearance and taste you would find in a Baresi seaside village. DiFronzo is dedicated to producing & growing as many heirloom, organic vegetables, & fruits from his family farm as possible. Gelato, pizzas, & specialties including his estate grown Pinot Grigio, Pinot Noir, & Syrah. All of this takes time but to us it is an art and a labor of love. We are truly committed to bringing you "cucina genuina."
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Wonderful food! I had the house soup, and my husband had the Caesar salad. We then split a Margarita Pizza. Very simple, but just perfectly preferred!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rngunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    95
    27
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Buzzing with Life and Great Tastes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Giuseppes is always busy and there is a reason why. They have great food (their bread is amazing), they have an excellent wait staff, chefs, bar tender, and hostesses. The ambiance is great and the whole experience is a pleasure.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SLL009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Had a group meal here based on a recommendation from our hotel. The food was very good and the service was excellent. Would highly recommend it for a good Italian meal

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tour_contact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Italian West of the Hudson River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

After four trips to the original in Pismo Beach, this was our first meal at the SLO location. It did not disappoint. Our appetizer was one of the best dishes I've had recently, beer battered squash blossoms, stuffed with mozzarella cheese and served on about the best marinara that I've ever had. That was followed by a sublime gorgonzola pizza with caramelized onions. After that, a unique baked pasta cake stuffed with house made sausage and ricotta cheese. Great stuff. Oh the wine list is outstanding as well, stocked with great local wines as well as some of Italy's best. Oh, they take reservations, which the original in Pismo does not.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martysfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in SLO!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We just spent 3 nights in SLO and by far had the best meal here.
The atmosphere was lovely, the service was great, and the food was excellent. We didn't try dessert because we were so full, but the dessert menu looked good.
The zucchini blossoms were yummy!

Helpful?
Thank Vetski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giuseppe’s Cucina Rustica also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Giuseppe’s Cucina Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing