We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful graduation dinner”

Giuseppe’s Cucina Rustica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Monterey/ Morro
Description: Welcome to Palazzo Giuseppe’s, downtown San Luis Obispo! Our Italian regional specialties are indicative to the Pugliese region in Italy, particularly Bari, a seaport on the Adriatic Sea from which most of our recipes originate. We hope you will enjoy and appreciate our great loyalty to the distinctive dishes, all of which we prepare with genuine and natural ingredients and methods. Our bread is baked from scratch every day in a wood-burning oven imported from Italy. Each loaf is made by hand, allowed to rise four times and slow-cooked to achieve the truly rustic appearance and taste you would find in a Baresi seaside village. DiFronzo is dedicated to producing & growing as many heirloom, organic vegetables, & fruits from his family farm as possible. Gelato, pizzas, & specialties including his estate grown Pinot Grigio, Pinot Noir, & Syrah. All of this takes time but to us it is an art and a labor of love. We are truly committed to bringing you "cucina genuina."
Wenatchee, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful graduation dinner”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had a delightful evening here to celebrate a college graduation. Seven of us all had delicious food in a fun setting. We highly recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    105
    29
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Terrible, or maybe worse.”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

First the bread. An Italian restaurant really must get this right. This was not the worst Italian bread I've had, it was the worst bread I have had! Burnt crust, crispy for the first inch or so, with a middle like bad challah . To make up for it was a sludge composed of garlic, oil, balsamic and cheese as a dip-truly terrible stuff. If a restaurant served this in Italy the patrons would throw it on the wall! The Caesars salad was leaves of romaine slathered with grease tainted with bad cheese. I could hardly get a few bites down. Then the main course. The order was totally wrong. The waitress blamed the kitchen at first, a restaurant no-no, then admitted she entered it wrong. The cavitelli with mussels was soupy and just tasted bad. The bresaola with pasta made by someone who never had bresaola. We got a comp desert then some bread to go, which we gave to a gal at our hotel. I don't understand the rave reviews I read here. This place is horrible.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ucddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I really had a great time there in our way to Los Angeles.
The food was delicious and the service was great as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank renatinhaventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do we know Italian? A native New Yorker would know!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Palazzo Guiseppe is located in the heart of downtown San Luis Obispo, but it could very well be in the middle of New York's Little Italy. The artisan bread is freshly baked each day, and the olive oi-garlic-Parmesan cheese dip for the bread is addicting. You can eat inside at a plush banquette or outside in the summertime on the patio. The menu includes seasonal fare, and local organic produce is featured in the offerings, and the standard regular items on the menu are always delicious and consistent. My husband is from New York, and this restaurant is one of our favorites. The only thing missing is wait staff with New York accents.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love Giuseppe's”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Try the lemon merenge martini! Sort of a variation of my Favorite Lemoncello with lemon sorbet martini! Always great food! Missed seeing you last time we were there Joe.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TERI S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giuseppe’s Cucina Rustica also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Giuseppe’s Cucina Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing