We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, Local Foods Served from a Unique Tapas-Style Menu, Over Looking the Creek in Downtown SLO”
Review of Luna Red

Luna Red
Ranked #10 of 304 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Monterey Street
Description: Located in the heart of downtown SLO next to the historic Mission Plaza, Luna Red is a lively gathering spot that features a Latin inspired menu of handcrafted plates, craft cocktails and an award-winning global wine. Luna Red's focus celebrates using local, seasonal ingredients and a lively late night music scene. On the weekends enjoy Brunch on both Saturday and Sunday starting at 9:00 am.
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fresh, Local Foods Served from a Unique Tapas-Style Menu, Over Looking the Creek in Downtown SLO”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I have been to Luna Red on several occasions, usually in groups of 4-6 groups of people and have been pleasantly surprised each and every time. Luna Red has a great atmosphere that I would recommend for a nice sit-down meal, indoors or out on the patio. Luna Red offers many local foods, cheeses, meats, etc. and the staff are always very knowledgeable about the menu and have great suggestions. We typically order the tapas food with the mindset that we're going to share with the table. All of their dishes are absolutely delicious. They have a great beer, wine, and cocktail menu and their desserts are to-die-for! This is one of our top stops when family and friends come into town because of the unique menu that offers local foods.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelinaxoxo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    111
    38
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food centrally located”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The best thing about the place is the great location and lots of outdoor space. The food was very good - not great - but importantly they understand that there is no need to pile tons of food on a plate to cover for a lack of quality. Something many American restaurants don't understand. The service was a bit slow - we were in no rush and could see that they were setting up for a private function when we walked in. We would definitely go again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BDG1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delightfully Surprised!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I had always wanted to have a meal here…drawn to the colorful umbrellas and outdoor seating. My husband and I had a late lunch and totally enjoyed our food, the service, and the happy hustle and bustle of Mission goers just beyond the restaurant. I ordered the grilled Romaine Salad which had just the right amount of char and melted blue cheese. I'd like to try and make this at home it was so good! My husband's salad was also great although I can't remember the name. The waiter recommended a new beer for him to try which also went over well. I can see that this restaurant may get overwhelmed for a dinner service, but our late afternoon lunch time was perfect and we had several wait staff helping us. I would go again in a flash.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice Location but Quite Average Food”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I had high hopes with yet another restaurant trying to make a go of it next to the creek and the Mission. The wait staff appeared confused and on several occasions brought us plates ordered by others. The daily special---fish tacos and chowder--was fine in terms of flavor and quantity, but nothing special. Guess I will wait for the next eating establishment to come.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveldudeworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stopped in for a light dinner, loved it”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We decided to try Luna Red for dinner because we only wanted a light dinner, not a huge meal. We knew they had tapas, sharing items or small plates. We were tempted by the special build your own burger at the bar that evening but that really wasn't what we were looking for so we opted out of that. We were pleased we stuck to our original plan. We had some great choices to share and some great salads. Everything was so fresh and our waiter was super friendly and such a good sport because we kept asking so many questions. It was such a fun dinner. We would recommend Luna Red to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Red also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Luna Red? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing