We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting and good food with wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Luna Red

Luna Red
Ranked #11 of 303 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Monterey Street
Description: Located in the heart of downtown SLO next to the historic Mission Plaza, Luna Red is a lively gathering spot that features a Latin inspired menu of handcrafted plates, craft cocktails and an award-winning global wine. Luna Red's focus celebrates using local, seasonal ingredients and a lively late night music scene. On the weekends enjoy Brunch on both Saturday and Sunday starting at 9:00 am.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and good food with wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Small; plates and tapas are our favorite way to eat. There's so much variety and one doesn't have to eat a lot of any one thing. We had a reservation and were seating at the appointed hour. There was a large party next to us, but they were not loud or boisterous. Our server, Trevor, was absolutely wonderful! He had responsibility for the large group, but it did not lessen his attentiveness to us. We ordered the Calamari, Lamb Loin, Serrano Ham and the Shrimp Ceviche. Everything was so tasty and came out in just the right order. We brought our own bottle of wine and Trevor served it masterfully. He truly enjoys his work and it shows. We plan to return to SLO in the near future and will definitely return to Luna Red.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joangosewisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    105
    38
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Delicious Sunday breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Bottomless Mimosas before noon on Sunday? Sign me up. I stopped here for breakfast/brunch one Sunday and boy was it delicious... homemade ketchup (tasty), fried potatoes (tasty), and a delicious omelet (super tasty). The outdoor dining is fun and casual. Service is a little slow.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ldeimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Happy Hour is a Bargain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have been here many times and love it. As far as cost, if you go during 'happy hour' the tapas are only $5 each as are a variety of drinks. It is not overpriced. The food is fantastic and that is also true when we have come when it is not 'happy hour.'

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Internetuser2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Big Prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Maybe everyone who loves this place has a huge salary. I thought $10. for a small bowl of macaroni a bit much. I paid $12. for a hamburger. While it was good, it was nothing to write home about. Wish I had enough dough to enjoy spending it this way, but I don't. If you want the outdoor experience, sit in the Mission next door,

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shelagh461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Grilled Romaine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Luna Red is fantastic! The drinks are creative and delicious and the food is simply amazing. We asked for recommendations once and were told to try the grilled romaine, which I would NEVER have ordered on my own. I ended up sopping up every drop of sauce, and then returned with various combinations of friends to share the secret of grilled romaine. Everything I've tried at Luna Red is really tasty and always a little surprising, but just be sure to get the grilled romaine!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NancyAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Red also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Luna Red? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing