We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of Our Faviorites with Great Outdoor Seating”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Luna Red

Luna Red
Ranked #11 of 303 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Monterey Street
Description: Located in the heart of downtown SLO next to the historic Mission Plaza, Luna Red is a lively gathering spot that features a Latin inspired menu of handcrafted plates, craft cocktails and an award-winning global wine. Luna Red's focus celebrates using local, seasonal ingredients and a lively late night music scene. On the weekends enjoy Brunch on both Saturday and Sunday starting at 9:00 am.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
133 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“One of Our Faviorites with Great Outdoor Seating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We've been to Luna Red a few times, and now make it a planned stop whenever we visit the San Luis Obispo area.

They have a very nice indoor dining room, but the real treat is to sit outside. Their patio area is pleasant and reasonably quiet. Well-placed umbrellas provide areas of both sun and shade.

Service has ranged from good to outstanding. The food is always excellent. We've had salads, lamb, chicken, quinoa waffles, bean soup, great fresh salads, and terrific sandwiches.

Please note that while the food is outstanding, the portions are not large. We find them satisfying but others may be wanting for more.

Parking in downtown San Luis Obispo can be a little challenging depending on the time of day and day of the week. In the downtown area most of the parking meters are either 30 minute or 2 hours. The two hour meters require coins (as of this writing it is $1.25/hour for the meters). There are also a few covered parking garages where the first hour is free. On days when there aren't a lot of visitors to SLO, you can find free street parking within 6 or 7 blocks of the restaurant.

Luna Red is worth a special trip.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XlntAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    105
    38
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb Tapas Style Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We first visited after leaving the Mission for a 'late lunch' for which they have a special menu. We chose the combination of cheeses and tapas plus pork rillettes. It was a very fine late lunch. The beer selection is also excellent (all bottled) and they have the 22 oz. bottles 'to share' if so inclined.

The following day, after a trip up to the San Miguel Mission and no luck finding a good restaurant that was open in mid afternoon, we went back to Luna. We were 1/2 hour too early for the dinner menu so we snacked on the 'late lunch' until opening time. The dinner menu was actually two menus the day we were there. An extended version of the 'late lunch' and also a 3-course Portuguese menu.

We would have loved to try the 3-course as it had some excellent choices, but felt that after our snacking we weren't quite up to it, so ended up with some more excellent tapas and dessert followed by excellent coffee.

If you enjoy the Portuguese style of food we highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food.. Small quantity..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We went to this place after visiting mission since it is right outside it.. the food was good.. However the portion size, even by lunch standard was quite small..I wouldn't mind an extra buck or two for a bigger portion, but I don't think i would want to order 2 lunch entrees for myself :) .. The staff and ambiance were good.. now if only they increase their portion size..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank argees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Special event well handled.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Was there as a guest for a friends party. The food and service was excellent What we had is hard to compare to a "regular" meal, as we had small plates of many things. But each plate was well presented and tasty. Can't say anything about cost.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank wine_lover714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We discovered Luna Red after leaving the Mission which is located right across the creek. We ordered tapas and a cheese plate instead of individual meals. The food was SO GOOD that I was practically scrapping the plate to get every last bit. Our tapa sampler included a smoked paprika hummus that they make on site, a red quinoa tabbouleh, and an olive assortment. It was served with fresh wedges of pita bread. The staff was attentive without being intrusive and sharing tapas makes for a companionable meal. We do not normally like to sit outside, but there is a lovely courtyard area that is right on the creek which affords a beautiful and tranquil view. Would add that I notice on some of the other reviews that there are complaints about small portions. I personally rate restaurants on the quality of the food, not the quantity. This is a foodie place; would not recommend it for those seeking more traditional fare.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Red also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Luna Red? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing