We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice afternoon snack with friendly service and nice atmosphere.”
Review of Luna Red

Luna Red
Ranked #11 of 302 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Monterey Street
Description: Located in the heart of downtown SLO next to the historic Mission Plaza, Luna Red is a lively gathering spot that features a Latin inspired menu of handcrafted plates, craft cocktails and an award-winning global wine. Luna Red's focus celebrates using local, seasonal ingredients and a lively late night music scene. On the weekends enjoy Brunch on both Saturday and Sunday starting at 9:00 am.
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
159 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon snack with friendly service and nice atmosphere.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Family of three dropping in for a snack without reservations on a Saturday late afternoon. Clearly a popular place they still found room for us at some "less desirable" tables near the entrance. Service was very friendly but due to sitting where we were, not in the normal rotation for our server so her visits were few and far between. That said loved the Sangria and fantastic marks for their Wine Picnic plate which came with two select cheeses and two select meats (many of which cured in-house). Perfect snack. Due to service, atmosphere, and likely tasty menu given our small snack, we will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    107
    38
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luna Red”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The food here is outstanding. Their menu is very diversified. In many places where you go for tapas it is all the same type of food. Here they have a wide variety of different ethnic cuisines to choose from with such a smattering of different flavors. My favorites were the Piquillo peppers, the Vietnemese Crepes and the St.Louis wild boar ribs. The menu changes all the time though so don't even know if they still serve those.

The service is friendly, not overbearing and timely. They time the dishes so that you never have too much or too little on your plate. The atmosphere out on the back patio is relaxing and quiet. At night it is just about right, but they have heaters that they will turn on for you if you do get to cold.

Overall, you will get a great dining experience here. I like it better then their sister restaurant Novo because I love to eat small portions of a lot of different things. If that is a style you like then you will love Luna Red.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Redhead32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“SLO's Luna Red”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Atmosphere is top notch as the site is next to the Mission and creek, so the ambience is unique and tranquil. Service is also top notch, as they've a balance from intercepting the guest, to all facets of the table service. As for the eats, the Tapas are broad in offering and simply delicious in execution.
Simply put, next time we're in town, we're a re-book.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RGWink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, CA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Everything But the Tables”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have eaten at Luna Red a number of times and can't say anything but good things about their food. Their baked oysters (used to be called Japanese oysters - name change?), pork belly and chopped caesar are three of my favorites!

Service has always been very good, but it seems when I order the Tequila Verde cocktail (muddled cilantro and jalapeño) it does take a while to get that drink. Great wine list. Eating outdoors along the creek is pretty special.

Four Circles - they lose a circle because their tables as so tiny! For a place that features tapas it is impossible to share an array of taste treats with more than two people at a table. For four people, it really is a pain to have anything other than one pate in front of you at a time.

One other thing you should be aware of, Luna Red does have a loyalty card. They really don't make you aware of it, but if you eat there regularly, ask for the card. You get a percentage of your bill added to the card (~$8+ for a $90 bill) which can be used as a discount on your next bill or accumulated until you decide to use it on any future bill...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The in spot in SLO beautiful outdoor patio, cozy interior, right by the mission , view of the creek, fabulous food. This location seems to be cursed. This space has changed restaurants so often in the last four years. I think this one is here to stay. Great selection of vegetarian tapas. Great lunch spot. Dog friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jpullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Red also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Luna Red? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing