We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Tapas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luna Red

Luna Red
Ranked #12 of 301 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Monterey Street
Description: Located in the heart of downtown SLO next to the historic Mission Plaza, Luna Red is a lively gathering spot that features a Latin inspired menu of handcrafted plates, craft cocktails and an award-winning global wine. Luna Red's focus celebrates using local, seasonal ingredients and a lively late night music scene. On the weekends enjoy Brunch on both Saturday and Sunday starting at 9:00 am.
Avila Beach, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Delicious Tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Delicious Sangria. Happy hour prices until 6pm!

We had the:
Seafood ceviche - Awesome! Highly recommended. Fresh and light.
Mac and cheese - Rich and delicious. We added bacon because, well - everything is better with bacon
Meze platter - spicy hummus (but not spicy at all), quinoa tabbouleh, cucumber tzatziki, olives with delicious pita chips. Very good!
Meatballs - came highly recommended by our server but my husband and I were not much of a fan.

Bathrooms smelled like a monkey house at a zoo (not even kidding). I'm not sure why because they looked pretty clean. We sat outside on the patio and it was really nice! They even have a little bar outside.

Service was great. Our server Krista knew the menu really well and she helped us navigate what to get and how many plates.

I'd definately return!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    101
    38
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Our new favorite (and fabulous) restaurant in SLO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We come to San Luis Obispo area for a few months every winter, and this year we have totally fallen in love with Luna Red. We don't even go out to dinner that often (we like to cook), but we love the food and service so much at this place, we have been there 6 times in less than 7 weeks! Hard to describe the food (check out their menus on their website), other than it's creative, interesting, beautifully presented, and delicious. They do really terrific wine pairings with dinner, and a very tasty Bloody Mary for brunch.

We've been to Luna Red for dinner (including our 30th anniversary and for Valentine's Day), lunch, and weekend brunch, and have never been disappointed. When we gave feedback on the one or two dishes that failed to impress, the staff was gracious and seemed genuinely interested in our comments. (In fact, they've already made a change on their dessert menu that really made us happy.)

There are so many things we've tried here and love, but some must-trys include: the bacon-wrapped chorizo-stuffed dates, the brick-grilled chicken, the baked oysters (try them with a drink called "Blood and Sand"), the spiced-roasted beets, the Luna Burger, the chorizo or grilled greens benedict (for brunch) -- but not all at once!

Another thing: the staff is very friendly, professional, and extremely knowledgeable about the food and drink on the menu (not something easy to find in many restaurants). If you're not sure what to choose, or if you want more/less spicy, let them know and they will make helpful suggestions. We love being served by John for dinner, and the service has been very good for lunch and brunch.

Luna Red is not inexpensive, but you can spend more for less at other places in the area, and the overall experience (food, service, atmosphere) is well worth the cost. Make sure you try it next January during restaurant month (which is when we discovered it), when they offer 3 courses for $30 (at least that was this year's deal).

This is more of a couples or dinner with friends place. Not so much for families with kids. Decor is modern and cool, the music is interesting, and there is something you'll love on the menu, so get a sitter and treat yourself to a lovely evening at Luna Red!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NipomoLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for small plates or ??”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Luna Red is owned by the same group that owns Novo (in SLO) and it shows. The service was genuine and friendly. There were lots of options from small to large plates and the food was excellent. Like Novo, they have an extensive wine, beer and beverage list. The food is excellent and easy to share. By ordering a number of small plates, we were able to try almost everything that jumped off the menu as being interesting. We are looking forward to going back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank OwenHall2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food portions are small and so so at best. The decor is very modern, and the staff is great. I was just disappointed when the food came, and even more so when the bill came.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Some good, some less so.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great setting just below the San Luis Obispo Mission and Mission Plaza, and the building itself rests directly over San Luis Creek. Great outdoor setting on nice days, which is more often than not.

Food experiments in a variety of unique international foods. Sometimes the food is taste, sometimes a bit spicy.

However, the desert that I had following lunch this January 2013 day, was a disappointment. The $8.00 carrot cake was in reality a small muffin with a dab of a light ice cream or sorbet and small syrup topping and a toss of large raisins. Should have been a $3 desert at the most.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank buzkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Red also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Luna Red? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing