We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nothing small about the tasty plates at lovely Luna Red” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Red

Luna Red
1023 Chorro Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
805-540-5243
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 286 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Monterey Street
Description: Nourish your appetite with Luna Red’s tantalizing mix of tapas, European staples and global creations. From house-cured duck prosciutto and local goat cheese, to tapas that include such gems as stuffed piquillo peppers or arancini balls, served with local mushrooms, leeks and a tomato jam— and those are just the starter plates. For an entrée, you’ll have a hard time deciding—we offer dishes from around the world such as Portuguese seafood stew with housemade chorizo or Korean style short ribs with housemade kimchee. We have something for every discerning palate. Each selection combines a perfect balance of flavors and represents a kaleidoscope of cuisines. Warm yourself. Delight in luna red.
La Selva Beach, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nothing small about the tasty plates at lovely Luna Red”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Imaginative and tasty Tapas small plate menu steals the show at this semi-recent entry on the SLO scene from the same folks who brought you Novo. Full bar and excellent cocktails (my rye Old Fashioned was perfect) add to the upbeat vibe and overall experience. Dined on a busy Friday night and had a wonderful time from the moment we walked in the door. I think our party of three sampled just about everything on the extensive menu but our favorites were the stuffed peppers, deep-fried quail and pork bellies. More of a hipster-to-nerdy college crowd than usual for SLO and everyone seemed to be having a great time. Outstanding service, too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NorCalBeachGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    87
    30
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yummy tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Really loved the onion rings and when the waiter mentioned it as one of the best items we knew we had to try them as it was t an expected item when you walk in this restaurant. The sauce that came with then wasn't great but the rings were awesome. The atmosphere is lovely and the outdoor heaters keep you toasty. Great service.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adventureCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SATISFIED 100% FROM THE OTHER SIDE OF THE WORLD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Everyone at Luna Red did an amazing job helping me plan a surprise dinner for my best friend and her fiance as an engagement "congratulations". I live in Fiji and it was so refreshing to have a easy, smooth experience with this establishment from my first conversation with Hayley all the way through to the DELICIOUS dinner created with a personalized menu and wine pairing that was top notch! Would highly recommend this restaurant to everyone, especially those that want to give a special gift to a friend or family member as a unique, personalized gift. Thank you again! Hope we get to thank all of you in person and experience your food ourselves on our next visit to CA!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Freedivefiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hip new restaurant next to Mission”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place is amazing! The photos don't do it justice...great patio next to Mission with a fun hip vibe! Food was incredible! We ate scattered sashimi plate that was melt in your mouth delish! Calamari was amazing too and a large portion! Lamb kabobs were super!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aeropete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“I'm on TAPAS the world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

What a diverse menu. Every time we go we try different tapas. Everything is tasty. Portions are a bit small for the price i.e. the open face pastrami "sandwich" is four bites and gone - good though. Especially like the new location along the creek. Nice ambiance!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranger93433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Red also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Luna Red? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing