We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal in an overpriced town”
Review of Sunbeam Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunbeam Motel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed July 10, 2014

There's coffee and packaged danishes but don't stay for the breakfast. Though the hotel is a bit dated, the rooms are nice and comfortable, the location is great for walking to the city and food, and the price hard to beat. The owners are friendly and accomodating. There is a bakery a block away and after 1900hrs muffins and other sweets are marked down to a dollar.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aggie1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Sunbeam Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 124 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

We paid a bargain price of $55 inc tax for this room for a 1 night stay. The motel is clean and has the amenities you require such as fridge, microwave, coffee maker, complimentary toiletries, wifi and TV. We had a great nights sleep. There are singularly packaged Danish pastries and fresh coffee available from reception in the morning which is a nice touch. Great cheap motel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chatterboxmegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were on a road trip and planned to stop in SLO to rest. After reading other reviews and locking in a great deal at $54/night tax included, we booked it. Nestled in a row of other hotels/motels on Monterey Street, the Sunbeam Motel was perfect in both price and functionality for an overnight stay.The older Asian man at check-in was very friendly and set us up with a room upstairs. Rather than a typical, plain motel layout, the room reminded me more of a guest room at an aunt's house. Maybe it was the wooden paneling on one of the walls or the decorative drawers or the stand-alone sink in the bathroom, but it felt cozy.

The small lot is well-lit, relatively quiet. Inside however, the walls were a little thin, as we could hear neighboring conversations at times. There's ample space for belongings in the drawers and closets, as well as a small flat-screen TV, mini fridge, microwave, and a coffeemaker, albeit outdated. The water pressure for the shower is great, but the toilet is a tad small. There's a little note about water conservation and a warning not to double-flush if it clogs. I'm sure they've had their fair share of incidences for them to post about it. The bathroom also had a window, which I liked.

There's no complimentary breakfast, but upon check-out, there is a basket of individually wrapped danishes available. It was a nice little touch. I asked if I could take a couple, and the older Asian man happily brought out even more of them. He was very nice. Overall, this place was an inexpensive, good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank journeybeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We enjoyed staying at this hotel. Besides the price, the location is good, and the staff was super nice and helpful as well. The room was clean and spacious, there was a fridge, microwave and coffee machine. A/C was working properly as well as wifi (which is not very common in motels...). They say they don't serve breakfast but every morning they had complimentary coffee and pastries at the front desk. I have nothing to complain about! I recommend it for those who are going to visit SLO. Try to go there on a Thursday to visit the farmers market (downtown), and make sure to be really hungry.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolCha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I stayed at the Sunbeam April 6th overnight and found it to be a gem. I was greeted at check in by a very nice woman and her cute dog. She gave me a spacious and well appointed room on the second floor. Since it was an 80 degree day, the room was warm but cooled down quickly with the windows providing a nice cross ventilation. I appreciated having the fridge and microwave for my dinner leftovers, that became my breakfast the next morning.

The biggest surprise happened upon my departure. I was assisted by the owner with calling for a taxicab to take me to the train station. When I was stranded by the cab company with no pickup the owner related my situation to another visitor who drove me to my train and saved my trip. When I tried to pay my good Samaritan $20 he most generously refused and suggested that I pay it forward. I intend to take his advice and make it a practice each day. Great stay!

Room Tip: My corner room was sunny and very comfortable on the second floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We moved from Maui to San Luis Obispo and needed a nice clean no frills place to stay while we searched for a long term place to live. The Sunbeam Motel had received above average reviews on Trip Advisor and looked appealing and quaint and was located in an excellent location.
We booked for 4 nights and ended up needing an additional 3. The friendly owners, Henry and Peggy gave us a nice quiet room on the second floor with lots of windows and it was perfect. The Wifi was fast, shower was plenty hot and we liked the selection of Danish at the quaint office. They were very accommodating and extremely nice. Henry even offered to help us move our stuff that we had in storage in his pick-up truck when we found an apartment. Talk about Aloha!
This isn't The Ritz folks but it is a safe, comfortable, inexpensive, quiet (It’s not a party pad) eclectic, friendly place to stay while you’re in SLO and walk able to everything downtown with excellent restaurants within a five minute walk.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Nice people and friendly reception. Walkable to many restaurants, a chocolate shop (yummy), grocery store and the historical old town. Room small (was it really a queen...seemed like a double bed) but fine for one. Clean except for carpet....needs a good vacuum and scrub. A thread that fell off my outfit was still there several days later. Had a table and chairs so I could work with my laptop. No closet (just a rod with hangers on the side of the bed) and almost no surfaces to set things. I am so glad the few surfaces were not choked with TV and brochures as most hotels tend to do. Wifi was very fast...no connection problems. Loved that I could open windows for fresh air. Did not use fridge so cannot comment on motor. Wall heater was quiet. However, the street noise was non-stop and my room overlooked the parking lot of the hotel next door. That was noisy with people talking and beep from cars locking. I could almost block it out as white noise. Could hear some neighbors in rooms on each side. Luckily there were not whining kids when I stayed. Even with the few issues, I would definitely stay here again. The price was great and I could park and walk safely everywhere.

Room Tip: No elevator so, if disabled, be sure to get a ground level room. Wood stairs to the top floor are ju...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paladin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.0 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#26 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
358 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#27 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Padres Motel
Los Padres Motel
#18 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#21 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbeam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbeam Motel

Address: 1656 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $56 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunbeam Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunbeam Motel is a wonderful motel for the budget-minded traveler. It is conveniently located near downtown San Luis Obispo and Cal Poly. Our rooms are equipped with standard amenities, including cable TV with HBO, free wifi, refrigerators, hairdryers, microwaves and daily housekeeping services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Sunbeam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing