We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent room for someone on a tight budget.”
Review of Sunbeam Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunbeam Motel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this motel because it was the cheapest we could find in town. I think that it was a decent motel especially for the price. Pros: price, friendly service, proximity to downtown, safe-looking area, lcd tv, refrigerator, microwave, small quiet motel, updated bathroom. Cons: outdated besides bathroom, our bed was pretty hard, musty smell, dirty towels in bathroom but owner gladly gave us clean ones.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misskrysta86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 124 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

I had a job interview and just need a place to stay overnight that had a bed and a shower. This place was the cheapest I could find close to downtown San Luis Obispo. If you are looking for a place that offers you better features look elsewhere, there too much light coming in the cheap window shades, ugly decor and shabby furniture and fixtures. There are better hotels/motels but you are going to pay for it if you don't want something less than $90.00. I think that they could make this place better and remodel but maybe they don't have any money. The staff were nice to deal with.

Room Tip: There are no good room here if you are not looking for a cheap one night place to crash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Hard to beat this place to stay in SLO for $50 odd a night for the two of us. Our room was on the ground floor behind the parking lot of the motel next door and we were woken early in the morning with guests from that place departing but otherwise the motel was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank reb2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you're going to be in pricey San Luis Obispo for 1 or 2 nights and you want to save on accommodations, you couldn't do better than the Sunbeam Motel. We stayed for 1 night, July 23. We splurged on the $59 room with 2 QS beds! You also get a mini fridge, microwave, flat screen TV, exceptionally clean and modern bathroom. Yes, you do get a paper bathmat that says "Bath Mat" (we took a picture!), but all in all very satisfactory. Plus, you are 2 blocks from the Splash Cafe and their excellent breakfast and bakery - within walking distance. .

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 on the 2nd floor at the back - very quiet with windows that open for ventilatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Nancy_L890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

It is highly recommended for budget traveller. Sunbeam motel is located on the Monterey Street in San Luis Obispo. It is the most affordable motel in the area. A short walking distance to town. For the price that we were paying, we weren't expect much when we booked it. However, the motel did surprise me. Generally, it was clean, comfortable & quiet. Parking was pretty limited.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IJayKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

You know you're not going to get much when your bath mat is a piece of paper on the floor that says "Bath Mat". No shampoo, tiny bit of soap, only two towels. The desk clerk checks out at 10 so you're on your own. I had to drive an hour to Food For Less to get shampoo. The room and bed was clean and pet friendly. Although it seemed a bit sketchy around the outside, the neighborhood is well lit and there are better hotels all around so you feel safe.

Room Tip: Bring your own amenities. This is bare bones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poohbear98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed at the Sunbeam Motel 6/20-21-12, after reading trip advisor reviews. Here's our situation, our musical group was booked in Modesto on 6/19, San Luis Obispo at the Madonna Event Center on 6/20, then LA and SD for the weekend. We needed an affordable place in San Luis Obispo for two nights, and a day off to energize by the beach. To stay "on buget", we rarely stay at the high priced Hotels we play at. The Sunbean totally met our needs and in fact was much better than expected considering $45 per night for two. The room was large, about 300sq ft. had a flat screen TV, lots of programing, a nice size refrigator and micro. Most of all, it was very clean and had a nice bathroom. We needed ice, no problem the office had it for us and the desk manager even reserved a safe parking space right in front of our room (#1) for our van which was carring a lot of expensive sound and light equipment. The stay was relaxing and in walking distance of town. When we are playing the Central Coast we will again make arrangements to stay at the Sunbeam, very nice people. Again, thanks to the kind folks that left similar reviews on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: For a more quiet room go for the rooms with a higher number, we stayed in room#1 and it was right on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveTurlock_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.0 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#27 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
359 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#24 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Padres Motel
Los Padres Motel
#19 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#21 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbeam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbeam Motel

Address: 1656 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $55 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunbeam Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunbeam Motel is a wonderful motel for the budget-minded traveler. It is conveniently located near downtown San Luis Obispo and Cal Poly. Our rooms are equipped with standard amenities, including cable TV with HBO, free wifi, refrigerators, hairdryers, microwaves and daily housekeeping services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sunbeam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing